Data Blocking on the iPhone 3G or 3G S

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by rdh94, Jun 10, 2009.

1. rdh94 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone, I recently joined this forum because I have been looking into purchasing an iPhone 3G or 3Gs to replace my two and a half year old crappy flip phone. I realize that some of what I'm about to ask has been covered somewhere on the iphone forums and I have found answers to some of my questions by searching this forum. However, some of the answers don't 100% help me and they present a fair amount of conflicting information. So if you wouldn't mind bearing with my potential redundancy in order to help an iphone newbie out, I would greatly appreciate it. :)

As far as general info is concerned, I live in the U.S. and my wireless carrier is AT&T. I'm a college student and I spend the majority of my time on my school's campus, which has plentiful WiFi. Bearing this in mind, it is hard for me to justify the cost of the data plan, when I could access the internet on my iphone via my school's WiFi. This wouldn't be an issue for me since I don't need to be connected to the internet all the time, and if I could eliminate the costly data plan and use the iphone without internet where there isn't WiFi, I would buy an iphone in a heartbeat.

With that said here is my tentative plan to use an iphone with a voice and text plan, but without the data plan.

1. Buy the phone, activate it with data, and keep the data plan for a month or two.

2. Put my sim card back in my old phone, call AT&T, cancel the data plan.

3. Put my sim card back in the iphone.

4. Disable the iphone's ability to connect to the internet via AT&T's 3G or EDGE networks, and use the internet on the phone only where WiFi is available.

5. Use the phone with my voice/text plan and use the internet without a data plan via WiFi (where available).