data charged on tmobile?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by CBillups1, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. CBillups1 macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #1
    so i look under cellular data when i surf the net and i see im sending and receiving. I have VPN: not connected.

    Im running on tmobile right now with no data, am i gettinc charged or am i looking at it wrong?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Is it counting your wifi usage maybe?
    Did you get any carrier data charges on your bill?
     
  3. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    it might be wifi usage but im not sure, you guys know better than i do.

    well i just got my iphone 4 a few days ago so wont know til the bill comes in this month.
     
  4. Tarzanman macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    #4
    These phones (iphone and other smart phones) transmit data back and forth to apple/t-mobile/at&t automatically.

    I don't know if there is a way to disable them from doing so
     
  5. darkside flow macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    WIFI isn't counted in the usage statistics, so yes, you are incurring data charges as we speak. If you don't want to buy a data plan, you need a data block on your account.
     
  6. vachargerfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    #6
    You sure about that? I just reset everything on my phone 7 days ago. My total billing usage for AT&T is 438 MB, but my usage on the phone is 1.4 GB

    *edit* Just checked and that is right. I did a quick 5 min Netflix stream over WIFI and didn't get any new usage
     
  7. Orion126 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #7
    I believe with TMO it's either you have data or you don't. I unlocked my old 3G and gave it to my sister who is on TMO and was given a free month of data. Call customer care and ask otherwise you can be hit with a $30 fee for data after a month.
     
  8. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #8
    yeah that's data from T-mobile, if you surf the net, emails arrive, etc w/out wifi being on, it means that you are using the EDGE data network from them to get the specific access.
     
  9. CBillups1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    CBillups1

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    well i added data blocker and i guess its working since the numbers havent gone up
     

Share This Page