data doubler problem.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by zyr123, Jun 24, 2014.

  1. zyr123 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #1
    It fried my gpu. But my apple was nice. And is allowing me to bring them the disc drive put it back in. And send it out to get a new logic board.

    Point is be careful. Or I just have incredibly bad luck. Has this happened to anyone els
     
  2. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #2
    Wow you got pretty lucky.

    You obviously messed up pretty bad to fry your gpu just replacing the disk drive.
     
  3. zyr123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #3
    I didn't do anything wrong though. It was put in correctly.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    I think the OP put in the data doubler adapter then later his GPU died. Then when he brought it in to Apple, they put the original optical drive in before shipping it out for service which is uncustomary. OP was trying to give a warning not to go to a Genius Bar with the data doubler adapter in...
     
  5. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #5
    You may be right but I have my doubts. He said "it fried my gpu".

    Pretty sure it happened right after the install, or during and then found right after..
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Then something is obviously screwed up either with his repair skills, the data doubler, the logic board, or some combination of the three. I have my doubts too... I want to hear what the OP says about this.
     
  7. zyr123, Jun 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014

    zyr123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #7
    data doubler problem.

    Yeah I got a new logic board last June. And it lasted until this June. I didn't screw up anything. I feel like it mite been the metal enclosure that made it happen instead of the plastic owc one.

    And yes don't go to apple with a data doubler in.
     
  8. GhettoMrBob macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    #8
    That data doubler would have 0 effect on the GPU. 0. From your sig it looks like you have a 2011 model (am I right?). Those are known to have failing GPU's and by the sound of it, you've already had it warranteed once before.

    To me that screams GPU issues regardless of what mods you've done. Sort of akin to you saying your 16GB of RAM caused the GPU to fail...doesn't really make sense.
     
  9. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #9
    The Data Doubler did not cause your drive to fail. The "Genius" was looking for an excuse to blame you for Apple's design flaw with the 2011 MBP (assuming that's the model you have based on the specs in your signature).

    Your GPU failing was merely a coincidence that happened after you put the Data Doubler in place.
     
  10. zyr123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #10
    Yes he was definitely trying to find a way to blame me for it. The question is do I put it back in. My warranty ends in 86 days. And this Mac has to last until the 2015 retina pro comes out. Or just get a 1 tab ssd and leave in super drive.
     
  11. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11
    I would just get a single SSD or hybrid drive if you need the space.
     
  12. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #12
    Or a single large SSD if you can afford it.

    If the hybrid drive is more appealing from a cost standpoint, do not get the Wester Digital Black2. It's a hybrid drive in the sense that it has a 120 GB SSD and 1 TB platter hard drive in one, but it's a bit different in that you're supposed to install the operating system on the SSD portion while having the HDD available for mass storage. This would be a perfect solution for a MacBook Pro, but it requires special software in order for the 1 TB platter drive to become visible to the operating system. Unfortunately, WD has not released a Mac version, and they've not announced plans to do so either.
     
  13. zyr123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #13
    Right. So I'm leaning towards a large ssd. 840 pro 512. 1 tb evo. Or 960 crucial. Which should I get.
     
  14. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #14
    How much space do you need? There's a big difference in price between 512 GB and 960 GB-1 TB SSDs.

    I wouldn't get the 840 Pro regardless, though. It's overpriced and has no built-in over-provisioning.
     
  15. zyr123, Jun 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014

    zyr123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #15
    data doubler problem.

    Application and documents and a expanding music collection. The occasional seasons of tv shows to put on iPad or watch on Mac. At least 500 gb minium.
     
  16. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #16
    The 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO is the way I would go. It's $419.99 at Amazon and Newegg. Though with Newegg, if you buy it with their iPhone app and use Google Checkout (there's a bizarre pairing if I ever saw it), you can get an extra $15 off.

    Actually, I'm going to be selling my 750 GB 840 EVO shortly. Had it about 3 months. Less than 1 TB written to it that I'd be willing to let go for less $/GB than you'd find from a brand new drive. PM me if you're interested.
     
  17. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #17
    Get the 840 Evo. It is a fantastic drive.
     
  18. zyr123 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    #18
    Just got the seagate thunderbolt 2.5 dock. For the old non ssd. Going to see if I can live off a 256 gb ssd. And if not I'll get the evo after camp.
     

Share This Page