Data Doubler SSD Negotiated Link Speed?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by the_insider, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. the_insider macrumors regular

    the_insider

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    USA / UK
    #1
    Last night I installed the OWC data doubler into my 2011 quad-core 15" mbp. I installed an OWC mercury extreme 240gb SSD into my standard HD slot and a toshiba 1tb hdd into the optical drive space.

    Everything is working wonderfully smooth, but when I checked the system profiler the computer is only negotiating at 3gigabit with my new SSD. I was wondering what I should do to boost this to 6 gigabit, and how I could enable TRIM support with the new SSD?

    Thanks in advance for helpful advice and suggestions!
     
  2. jayhawk11 macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #2
    That's all that the HDD needs. 6Gb/s does nothing for an HDD as it can't move data that fast.
     
  3. the_insider thread starter macrumors regular

    the_insider

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    USA / UK
    #3
    Thanks for the reply,

    I am not worried about the HDD speed. It is the SSD in the main drive bay that is only negotiating at 3 gigabits.
     
  4. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #4
    For TRIM, just google OS X TRIM hack and it should be the first link that pops up.
     
  5. jayhawk11 macrumors 6502a

    jayhawk11

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    #5
    My apologies. I misread your post. Did you get the 6Gb/s version of the Mercury Extreme Pro? There is a 3Gb/s and a 6Gb/s. Before you start resetting PRAM or SMC, that would be an easy thing to check.
     
  6. the_insider thread starter macrumors regular

    the_insider

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    USA / UK
    #6

    Yes, it is the 6 gigabit mercury extreme pro. I have already reset the SMC, but it did nothing.
     
  7. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #7
    You might want to read this blog post from OCW.
     
  8. the_insider, Sep 17, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011

    the_insider thread starter macrumors regular

    the_insider

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    USA / UK
    #8
    Thanks, I'll check it out when I get home from work.

    EDIT: I updated the firmware last night and my MBP is still reporting a 3 gigabit negotiated link speed. :(
     
  9. shardey, Sep 17, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011

    shardey macrumors 6502a

    shardey

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    #9
    Wonder what the problem is then.
     
  10. DWBurke811 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    #10
    2011's do have SATA3, at least in the main bay. :confused:
     
  11. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #11
    Does System Profiler report a link speed of 6 Gigabit? If so then that's very odd that you're getting 3G in the main bay. Have you checked to make sure they sent you the correct SSD? (Obvious I know, but these things happen.) Try resetting PRAM, I had to do that with one drive swap, SMC did nothing.

    I would steer clear of TRIM. Drives have their own garbage management these days and there are reports of bad issues arising from enabling it. I have filled up C300s and Vertex 3s without using TRIM support and they still performed well.
     
  12. the_insider thread starter macrumors regular

    the_insider

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Location:
    USA / UK
    #12
    Good to know, thanks for the info. Yes, system profiler reports a link speed of 6 gigabits. I will reset the p-ram when I get off work. Hopefully this will put the issue to rest.
     

Share This Page