Data plan with Prepaid At&T Sim

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Sicabaddon, Jun 25, 2010.

  1. Sicabaddon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #1
    Hey everyone, i was browsing the forums looking for a answer on this, i see alot of answers on this subject for T mobile but not At&t.

    Is there a way i can use the data plan from pay go (at&t prepaid) on my unlocked iphone? I saw for t mobile you need to change the VPN and some other things.

    Any help would be much appreciated! Thank you!
     
  2. ceep5588 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #2
    Sadly, AT&T will not allow you to use prepaid data plans on an iPhone at all.
     
  3. Sicabaddon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #3
    so the best way for me to get data on mine is to get a prepaid tmobile? or is there a better option
     
  4. ceep5588 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #4
    Honestly, I'm not super familiar with using prepaid data through T-mobile on an unlocked iPhone, but if you can do it (if you searched the forum and see that you can) it's pretty much your only option.
     
  5. Sicabaddon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #5
    i was afraid of that, Tmobile has horrible service out where i am. i would just get a at&t contract but they want a $750 deposit for me to start a contract which is insane!
     
  6. ceep5588 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #6
    The list of reasons AT&T is the ball and chain of Apple grows..

    It's sad that the European cellphone market is so much more accessible than ours. Welcome to monopoly capitalism!
     
  7. yifanlu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    #7
    I used data on prepaid AT&T. You have to change the APN from "phone" to "wap.cingular" for prepaid data to work. On 3.1.3, I just changed it from General -> Networking -> Cellular Data -> APN. When I upgraded to 4.0, I saw that the "Cellular Data" menu is just a on-off switch. In that case, get Apple's enterprise profile creator program, and create a new profile with that APN and load it to your iPhone.

    It isn't cheap though. If you don't purchase a prepaid data plan, it's 1 cent per KB ($10 per MB). You can also purchase 1MB for $4.99 and 100MB for $19.99. Either way, it's a ripoff. I suggest T-Mobile (if only they support iphone 3g!)

    EDIT: My current "set-up" is carry two phones at all time. T-Mobile 3GS hosts MyWi (kinda like a MyFi) and iPhone 4 uses AT&T talk & T-Mobile data. I can't wait for a iPhone 4 unlock, so I can use the T-Mobile prepaid voice ($.20 a minute instead of AT&T's $.25 a minute).
     
  8. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #8
    Get an iPad 3G SIM (activated). I am using it in my iPhone 4 for data only. Fancy iPod Touch. :D
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    T-Mobile 3GS hosts MyWi ?
    I cant imagine how painfully slow would be trying to share you 2G edge speed thru Mywi.....
     
  10. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #10
    It is entirely possible to use prepaid data on a 3GS, 3G or original iPhone. All you need to do is use a custom APN and data will work 100%. I'm not sure why people keep saying you can't use data when you can.

    Prepaid data plans are expensive though, 100MB for $1.99 and 5MB for $4.99.

    I was using an old unlimited prepaid data plan on my 3G up until a month ago when I sold it.
     
  11. 504A! macrumors member

    504A!

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #11
    I'm proof!!

    i'm currently using a 3GS on a prepaid go phone pick ur plan account, i installed the Att carrier profile by going to unlockit.co.nz on the iphone, ive had this same plan on every iphone i had (original, 3G and now 3GS) for 2 years now, not sure if they(ATT Gophone) still offer the unlimited but that is what i have for $19 a month:cool:
     
  12. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #12
    Thanks for the backup experience! AT&T officially stopped selling unlimited MediaNet on prepaid a year ago in January partly because iPhone users discovered they could use it along with a minute plan and save about $10-20 on what a real iPhone plan would cost. Even when they did offer a real prepaid option for the iPhone, there wasn't much savings from post paid unless you chose the option to not have data at all which was possible.
     
  13. Carlos E macrumors 6502

    Carlos E

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #13
    I'm doing the exact same thing with a 3GS man. Did you buy an iPhone 4? I want to buy a no contract iPhone 4 and cut down my go phone prepaid SIM.
     
  14. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #14
    I'm one of the lucky ones that have the unlimited contract still rolling on my iPad. So, your saying that it works in the iPhone 4 if I just pop the sim out of my iPad and put it in an iPhone 4? No hacking required?

    Is there a way for AT&T to see what device the sim is servicing at any given time?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  15. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #15
    The iPad and iPhones have an IMEI number and that is sent to AT&T the second one of these devices connects to the network. You can verify this by logging into your online account and checking to see what device is shown on the summary screen.
     

Share This Page