Data roaming in Canada?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by skubish, Jul 8, 2007.

  1. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #1
    When I take my iPhone to Canada, is there a charge for using EDGE?
    I have search ATT's site and have only been able to find international rates for calling.
     
  2. mrat93 macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #2
    I am in montreal now via wifi. Its 79 cents per minute per call, 49 cents per text and $0.019 per kilobyte transferred via EDGE.
     
  3. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #3
    Basically if you travel out of the country, take your sim chip out. You can still use WIFI, and you can put it back in for an emergency.
     
  4. skubish thread starter macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #4
    Nah, others might need to reach me in an emergency. There needs to be a way to turn off data like there is for wifi. In the mean time I can switch the email to manual. I believe that is the only function that automatically users EDGE. Everything else is user initiated.

    mrat:
    How did you find out the data rate?
     
  5. speg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    #5
    Does AT&T publish this anywhere, I can't seem to find anything.

    If this is true... that would be 19 cents / MB, correct?

    And Rogers offers 100MB for $100? or $1/ MB.

    Can that be right? Is Roger's gouging is THAT much? It's 81% cheaper to roam data with AT&T!?
     
  6. ryanobjc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #6
    roaming in Canada the att docs say that received texts use in plan messages. Data is in plan or .015 per kb. I used my iPhone in Canada so I'll let you know next billing cycle.
     
  7. oogje macrumors regular

    oogje

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    nyc
    #7
    $0.019 per kilobyte == $19.456 per megabyte
     

Share This Page