Data roaming on or off?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by silbeej, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. silbeej macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    #1
    so within the united states, should I have data roaming on or off? Is it possible to roam within the states, and will I get more towers in rural states if I have the roaming turned on?
     
  2. aristobrat macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #2
    I'm unaware of anywhere in the US that your phone would roam, unless you're literally right on the border and happen to pick up a tower in Mexico or Canada.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    If you stay in the US, you can leave it on. If in the astronomically unlikely chance that you're on the border and get a Canadian or Mexican signal inside the US, I'm pretty sure you can call AT&T and complain about it.

    FWIW I have never had this experience on the US/Canada border, at least at Detroit, but I guess it could happen.
     
  4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #4
    but what is thepoint of data roaming? lets you use other providors 3g networks?

    it wont jack up your bill at all?
     
  5. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #5

Share This Page