Data Stored on Logic Board

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Barney63, Apr 12, 2014.

  1. Barney63 macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.
    #1
    I've just had the logic board replaced on my rMBP and noticed since I've had it back there have been a few passwords that I've been asked for again. I also had to go through reactivating Parallels (although the key auto filled).
    All my data, browsing history emails etc all seem to still be there, and they didn't mention doing anything to the SSD.
    Is some data stored on the logic board?

    Barney
     
  2. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    I'm not aware of anything being stored on the logic board.

    Some Applications use a machine key when you register/activate them. If you change a hardware component they will notice a change in the machine key and ask you to re-activate. That might be the simplest explanation.
     
  3. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #3
    The only info stored on the logic board is the EFI info and the serial number of the machine. None of your software settings or passwords (unless you have an EFI password) are stored there.
     
  4. Barney63 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.
    #4
    I've just had to input another password, this time for sending an email.:confused:

    Barney
     
  5. dmccloud macrumors 6502a

    dmccloud

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    #5
    That's browser and/or software preferences that were reset after the logic board replacement. It's a normal occurrence.
     
  6. Barney63 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.
    #6
    So did the Apple Store reset them? Why?

    Barney
     
  7. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #7
    No, you have a new logic board with a different "serial number"/ID and apps and/or keychain access can tell you have a "new" computer and they want to make sure you are you. It should clear itself up as you use it.
     
  8. Barney63 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Barney63

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Location:
    Bolton, UK.

Share This Page