Data Usage Has Quadrupled since upgrading to Mavericks!

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by rochow, Jan 23, 2014.

1. rochow macrumors member

Data usage for the last 6 months: http://postimg.org/image/flylwb1pv/

I think I've FINALLY figured out what the hell is going on last night, I have been racking my brain for a few months now.

End of October is when I installed Mavericks! Ever since then, the data has been smashed. If the computer is off, no usage happens aside from a few meg from my phone on wifi. When the computer is on, all I'm doing is web work as I've been doing for years & years & years (2GB a day tops).

How in the world this much data is being used is beyond me.
    And it has to be just data, because it's not like I have a terabyte hard drive on the computer where it's all accumulating :)

Only two applications I've installed since Mountain Lion, maybe around then I can't remember exactly:
    - Avast
    - Photoshop CC

They appear to be the 3 possible culprits. Possibly something has **** itself, and is just on an endless download loop trying to complete?

I installed Little Snitch, nothing seemed out of the ordinary with access requests, although a virus is possible it's unlikely.

Any ideas? Is activity monitor 100% accurate at capturing all in & out, and over what timeframe (it'll capture from when it's opened til when it closes?)

2. kissmo macrumors 6502a

Mate.
    I thought it's me who is experiencing this only.
    I have a 64 GB SSD.

After a while I start to see GBs dissapearing from free space for no reason.
    I did clean installs, I tried beta versions, still the same.

Some data seems to be gone.
    I downloaded iWork update and iMovie update today and now I see a drop in 2 GB per total.
    I assume some code was added to the apps. However 2 GB seems a lot.

I had 26 GB free 1 month ago. I installed NOTHING and freespace dropped at 18.
    Then I make the update and I have now 15.6 GB free.

I have Trim Enabled.