Data usage on UK networks

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by tommy060289, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. tommy060289 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Hey everyone. I have an iPhone 3GS that recently ran out of contract from O2 and as such I have switched to 3 network on the 100 Sim only deal.

    The thing is though I used to have 500mb usage allowance on O2 and id never ever go near it (maybe 200-300mb) a month but now I'm on 3 I get 1gb which SHOULD be plenty!

    However I have seven days left to go before my next allowance and I only have 150mb left! I really can not understand how my usage has increasd so much! I'm essentially quadrupling my data usage which I just don't understand how it is possible. I mean I get 3G at work now so maybe get a bit more usage out of it a day but I really can't see why this is making such a huge difference!

    Is there any other reason my usage could increase so bad?
     
  2. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #2
    Web browsing and watching videos takes a lot. Installing apps is also a killer. Your increased usage at work could easily attribute to the "quadrupled" data usage.
     
  3. WillEH macrumors 6502a

    WillEH

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    This is my worry, I just finished my contract with Orange, I had 750mb a month. It's now 500mb, rolling each month. Hopefully I won't go over. For some reason, I went over with 750mb each month. I was being charged £20 extra!
     
  4. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #4
    Overage charges are horrible. I'm pretty sure I went over by 600MB this month and I am not stoked to see my bill. :( However, I switch iPhones a lot (SIM swapping) and I don't always reset the usage counter for each new billing cycle so I could still be safe.
     
  5. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    I was on O2 on their Text and Web bolt on. (£15 worth of call time, unlimited texts and 500MB of data)
    I was routinely going over the data allowance, since I had had unlimited before.

    On Monday I switched to 3's All in One 15 add on. It's heaven. 300 mins, 3,000 texts and all you can eat data for £15 a month on Payg.

    Edit: Worked out that since switching to 3, I use about 75MB-100MB a day. That's Personal Hotspot for you :D
     
  6. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #6
    Check any recent app's downloaded as some do access the net in the background for updates etc.

    Im on 02 and also have 500mb per month.

    I use the internet very heavily on my ip4.

    I do not watch streaming data such as utube video's.

    I normally hit 300mb to 350mb.

    I suspect as said in an earlier post that because you now receive 3g coverage at work your normal usage has changed.
     
  7. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #7
    I. am. so. jealous.


    :p
     
  8. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #8



    I'm not because 3's coverage where I reside and work is poor, so it's a no go for their cool tarrif !
     
  9. cookiesnfooty macrumors 6502

    cookiesnfooty

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Harrogate
    #9
    Usage can be bad on 3G I use Giffgaff which offers unlimited internet 300 minutes unlimited txt for £10 a month.
     
  10. Azzin macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    London, England.
    #10
    How are you checking the usage?

    Are you using the 3 app or the iPhone's usage settings?

    Might be worth resetting the iPhone's usage setting and monitor from there.
     
  11. LaunchpadBS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    iLondon/iDurban
    #11
    I switched from O2 to Three about 12 months ago, 1 because O2 has CR@P reception where I work and at home, 2 because they were introducing that data cap at a measly 500mb.

    Three by far have the best value for money packages when it comes to data, and the 3G reception is much better than other networks. But be warned, I'm on the sim-only £10 a month package cause I hardly make calls and the 1GB data bundle was what I needed, but when I started using my iPhone as a personal hotspot with my iPad, wham Three slapped on an additional £10pm for an extra 1GB of data without even telling me, citing tethering as justification.

    Now it's still cheaper than most other providers but I don't use nearly 1GB, let alone 2GB but because I 'tether' on the rare occasion I have no choice but to pay for 2GB.
     
  12. LaunchpadBS macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Location:
    iLondon/iDurban
    #12
    Can you downgrade, from Pay monthly to PAYG and keep your number?
     
  13. AAPLaday Guest

    AAPLaday

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #13
    Yeah you can
     
  14. zin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Not sure if it's the same over in the US, but over here networks (or, at the very least, O2) don't count App Store downloading towards your data cap.
     
  15. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Not true! Data is data
     
  16. TheOriginalKi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Belfast
    #16
    Networks in the UK do count data from App Store downloads. Got any proof to say o2 doesn't?
     
  17. The Game 161 macrumors G4

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    I know when I use mine at work it jumps as there is no 3G coverage so it takes longer to load which increases the usage.

    I have an app to check how much usage i have done and how much i have left.
     
  18. cookiesnfooty macrumors 6502

    cookiesnfooty

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Harrogate
    #18
    That's bull dude.
     
  19. WelshBluebird macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    I just moved to the one plan on Three. £25 a month, sim only 30 day contract. Am loving all you can eat data. So much nicer than the pathetic 500MB I had on Orange (and I am paying £5 less, and get more minutes aswell!).

    I don't think so.
     
  20. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #20
    Used 250MB today watch the Tour de France live. This is the life :D
     
  21. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #21
    I go over my data cap when I watch 6 YouTube videos. This is the life. :D
     
  22. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #22
    Fixed :D
    But yeah, I think you can.
     

Share This Page