Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DougFNJ

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 22, 2008
NJ
It's been a few days since launch. I've had some real life experiences with my iPad Pro 9.7", and it has been getting better and better.

I am coming from an iPad Air 2 and had no problems with it at all, I enjoyed it a lot. I have also had most generation iPads and have mainly used them as consumption devices. To me, they have always given some kind of upgrade to each generation that made it worth it to upgrade. In this case it was the Apple Pencil capability for a high value for me.

Launch day Thursday morning, I ordered it for in store pickup in Space Gray 256gb, Cellular, Applecare+, the dark gray silicon Case and Cover, the Apple Pencil, and a USB-C to lightning cable. I went in before work, showed my ID, unboxed everything in the car, and restored the initial content to get it running. I have a Waterfield Designs Slipcase I used for the Air 2, with the Case and Cover, it's a little snug, but works how I need it to. It has a front pocket perfect for the Apple Pencil. I also bought some utility pencils and used the clip from one on the Apple Pencil to keep it from sliding out.

I am not an artist, I am in Sales. I take notes at all of my meetings, and too often go nuts trying to find something I wrote down like a phone number or dollar amount. By the end of the week I have these notes all over the place and it is very hard to organize. I could type them out on the iPad or iPhone, and tried it once, it was awkward, so I stuck with the pen and paper until now.