DD WRT Wireless Repeater Suggestions

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by lunaoso, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. lunaoso, Aug 15, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2013

    lunaoso macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    A few months ago I "hacked" my Linksys WRT54G v.(8 maybe? I'll check if its needed). I successfully put DD WRT or it and set it up as a repeater for my other Linksys router. It's been working fine for the most part, but the problem is in the "fringe" area, where devices kinda of have signal from the normal router, but would benefit from switching to the repeater, as the signal is iffy. I've been trying to find a solution for a few months, to try and figure out how I could get all of my devices to switch over to the repeater at this "fringe" area. I know a lot of people here are pretty good at this kind of stuff, so I figured someone may be able to give me a solution if there is one.
    Thanks in advanced!

    PS- Wasn't sure if this would fit more in the Peripherals or the Apple TV/Home Theater. Mods feel free to move it if necessary.
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Why not start by upgrading that ancient G router.
     
  3. lunaoso thread starter macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Lol, just reusing the old router. ;) The "non-repeater" is an N router. The repeater was just an easy setup to install DD WRT so I decided to reuse it, just for the outer reaches of my home.
     
  4. lunaoso thread starter macrumors 65816

    lunaoso

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    So is there no way to fix this? It's somewhat annoying as this "fringe" area is in places around the property where wifi is used a lot.
     
  5. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #5
    if you can run an ethernet cable (powerline networking will also work) you might have better luck

    on your mac, get istumbler, verify that both your base stations are broadcasting. you should see them both in the list of networks

    also on your mac, alt-click the airport icon. the BSSID is the mac address of the base station's wi-fi that you are connected to. this will let you verify that you are connected to the repeater and not the main.

    when in the fringe area, try turning off wi-fi on your laptop and then back on, see if you connect to the repeater.
     

Share This Page