ddr (or 2 or 3) ram in a PowerMac G4 (panther)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by bcrguy, Mar 30, 2010.

  1. bcrguy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #1
    can i put any type of ddr ram in my powermac g4 (agp) running panther??

    i know the system is maxed out at 2 GB..

    the fact is that i can get ddr ram a little cheaper than sdram..
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    It would be easier to help if you told us the specs of your PowerMac. DDR2 and 3 won't work because it uses DDR RAM but tell me the specs and I'll link you the RAM you need
     
  3. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    OP, if it's Power Mac 350 MHz from your sig, you can't use DDR with it. Only SDRAM PC 100 (or 133 if you will get it cheaper).
     
  4. bcrguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #4
    look in my sig below...

    ok thanks...
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Here
     
  6. vincebio macrumors 6502a

    vincebio

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Glasgow
    #6
    i just installed SDram 133 in mines..
    these older ram chips are quite expensive...i was suprised by this..
    digital audio 466 G4..

    ddr2 and 3 will not fit let alone work..
     
  7. bcrguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #7
    hence why i was asking if ddr would work.. lol.. although i should have guessed it wouldn't fit..
     
  8. ljonesj macrumors 6502a

    ljonesj

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Location:
    Kingsport TN
    #8
    still wont work with ddr you can only use pc100 or pc133 as that machine was built before ddr1 was even released
     
  9. bcrguy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    Location:
    Burlington Ontario Canada
    #9
    yes i got that...
     

Share This Page