DDR2 PC2-6400/DDRII-800 for iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lazydog, Aug 10, 2007.

  1. lazydog macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #1
    Hi
    I noticed that the new iMacs have a FSB of 800 and Crucial's website are suggesting PC2-6400 memory modules rather than the DDR2 PC2-5300 ones.
    So, is there a performance advantage from using the faster (and more expensive) PC2-6400 memory?

    thanks

    b e n
     
  2. superlatic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #2
    have you noticed also that they only sell up to 2GB packs (2 x 1GB)
     
  3. lazydog thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #3
    Yes I did! I guess you can't get 2G sticks yet.

    b e n
     
  4. superlatic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #4
    well apple are selling them (abeit at an overinflated price).

    also i thought the imac used the same memory as the macbook pro?
     
  5. lazydog thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #5
    Sorry, I was refering to 2G sticks of PC2-6400, not the PC2-5300 that Apple sell.

    b e n
     
  6. CEToons macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #6
    Crucial correction


    Crucial does sell 2GB sticks, and they are PC2-5300. They are priced at $140 each. I bought two to upgrade to 4GB of RAM.

    When you scroll down, there is an option to "Display all" at which point the 2GB sticks will appear.
     
  7. Grenadier macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    #7
    Is noone actually listening to the OP ?!

    800MHz RAM enjoys about a 12-15% advantage over 667MHz.
    Atleast thats what I heard - can anyone verify this ?
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    will the 800mhz ram run on the new imacs?? this is what i want to know. would be a ripe improvement in some things.
     
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    None whatsoever, its a complete waste of money according to this
     
  10. reflex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #10
    800MHz ram will run, but it will run at 667MHz in the new iMacs.
     
  11. lazydog thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Cramlington, UK
    #11
    Ah, many many thanks for pointing out that article.
    I will stick with the slower memory and save some money:)

    b e n
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    i have sources that say the santa rosa can support memory of 800mhz, and still run at 800mhz. i dont believe that. i cant believe it...

    WHY!????? that is disgusting


    ARGH BRAIN EXPLOSION!

    editz0r: ok nm fck that!!! thats disgusting intel. shame shame shame
     
  13. booksacool1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    Well its been known for a while. The 'wonderful' new 965 chipset does not support 800mhz ram which is a pity for all those with turbocache/integrated graphics (where it will impact performance).

    Having said that, buying 800mhz SODIMM's isn't such a bad idea because its future proofing. You'd be able to use it in your next laptop without taking a performance hit. Especially if those are 2gb sticks. You only loose out in price and timings.
     
  14. itendix macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #14
    I have just bought 2 x 2GB G-Skill PC2-6400 / DDRII-800 memory for my iMac Extreme but unfortunately my Mac doesn't even boot after the memory upgrade :(
    Shouldn't it at least work with 677Mhz?

    Can someone tell me what's the problem with the memory? I have attached two pictures.

    The original memory:
    [​IMG]

    The new one (sorry for the bad quality):
    [​IMG]

    I would be very happy for any help ;)
     

Share This Page