DDR3 1333 will it work?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by baddj, Mar 9, 2009.

  1. baddj macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #1
    Okay i have been looking around for ram for my laptop (if i can put it in without killing my warranty)

    Any who's so far the only shops i can find in my city only have ddr3 1333 will it work in the macbook with out any issues?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  3. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Make sure that it is the same number of pins / SODIMM form factor. It should work, but the speed the RAM is being run at is determined by the motherboard, not the stick of RAM itself. So even if you put in RAM that is rated for a higher speed, it will still run at the default.
     
  4. baddj thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    #4
    Okay one say it does not and one say it mite were can i find solid info on this as i want to be 100% sure before i buy.
     
  5. paolo- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #5
    Get it online, it should be much cheaper and you should be sure to get something that works.
     
  6. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #6
    Judging from the situation on Intel PCs (and from previous Mac models), if you put higher-clock RAM into a board, the RAM will work, but will run at the slower speed of the board, not at its capable speed.

    Since 1333MHz RAM is more expensive, and wouldn't run at full speed anyway, it's unlikely you're going to find any concrete information about this particular scenario, since few people would bother.
     
  7. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #7
    That's how it works on any computer. The RAM, regardless of clock speed (when higher than the spec'd bus speed), will run at the bus speed.
     
  8. Mikey B macrumors 65816

    Mikey B

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Location:
    the island
    #8
    I can't imagine it could possibly be any different than what these guys have said.

    Save your money and get the 1067mhz DDR3.
     
  9. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #9
    If one says it definitely doesnt, and another says it might, I'd go ahead and assume you should just go buy the right type of memory.
     
  10. Jeffrosproto macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    #10
    Buy from newegg or tigerdirect, it will almost always be cheaper than a Retail/Big Box Store.
     

Share This Page