Ddr3 1600 & sata 6

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Zen0Jin, May 5, 2011.

  1. Zen0Jin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #1
    Got a loaded retail channel configuration 27" yesterday and I'm looking to upgrade the ram.

    Not sure why Apple uses DDR3-1333 paired with a desktop Core-i7 but I assume we can use DDR3 1600 SODIMMs?

    Also, just for anyone wondering, the system says SATA 6GBbps is the interface, while the Seagate drive runs at 3Gbps.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Sandy Bridge CPUs officially support only 1333MHz but 1600MHz has been proven to work (not with iMacs yet though).

    The HD uses SATA 3Gb/s, that is why the negotiated speed is 3Gb/s.
     
  3. Zen0Jin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    #3
    I've been out of the loop... I was running DDR3 1600 on a Core i7 920 seems like years ago. That official support was 1066 I think.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    The official limit was a response to why Apple is using 1333MHz instead of 1600MHz. It has always been possible to run higher clocked RAM with certain CPUs and chipsets.
     
  5. DucktapeFanboy, May 5, 2011
    Last edited: May 5, 2011

    DucktapeFanboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    #5
    So you think we could use 1600Mhz Ram with the new i7s?
    That would be great news!

    *Edit*
    I just looked for available 1600Mhz 204pin SoDimms and found those 8Gb Kits selling for 77€
    Kingston HyperX SO-DIMM XMP Kit 8GB 1600Mhz

    So it's basically the same price i'de pay for Kingstons 1333Mhz Ram.
    So if just someone could run a test and tell me they are working fine i'de be really happy! ;-)
     
  6. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Sure, you could likely run it. But it's going to run at the slower 1333mhz speed IF the chipset doesn't support it. People typically buy faster ram than what the system is rated at for overclocking.

    It looks like the EFI update opened up SATA 3 too.
     

Share This Page