DDR3-1600MHz in a 2010 MBPro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hexley, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. Hexley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #1
    The Mid 2010 MBPro is spec'd to run on DDR3-1066 RAM. Can I install DDR3-1600MHz RAM in it and will work?

    This rather unusual arrangement happened because I want to transfer the (2x4GB) 8GB DDR3-1600MHz RAM that comes standard with the 2012 27" iMac to my old Mid 13" 2010 MBPro that still uses the original DDR3-1066 RAM that came with it.
     
  2. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #2
    It won't hurt to try since you will have the RAM anyway. It will likely work as the RAM typically have SPDs for lower speeds. In fact the 2010 MBP's stock RAM is actually DDR3-1333, it just runs it downclocked.
     
  3. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    Yes it will run fine, it will just downscale to the 1066 ot 1333, which ever it is.
     
  4. Hexley, Dec 14, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2012

    Hexley thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #4
    You have a point.

    I have the Core 2 Duo (P8800) whose FSB Speed is 1066 MHz.

    For those who do not know the 2010 MBPros came standard with (2x2GB) 4GB DDR3-1066MHz RAM.

    I'm upgrading the 2012 27" iMac to 32GB DDR3-1600MHz RAM.
     
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    The 2009 models also ran 1066MHz RAM, but I have 1333MHz in mine and it reports that it is running at 1333MHz.
     

Share This Page