Ddr3 question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by veeco3110, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. veeco3110
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    veeco3110

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    brick nj
    #1
    Just out of curiousity, would my iMac which has 4 gig of ddr2 ram benefit from 4 gig of ddr3 ram? Or would it be a waste by the computer utilizing the ram as ddr2 basically ovrkill?

    Thanks
     
  2. r.j.s
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    If your iMac came with DDR2, it can't take DDR3.

    Which iMac do you have?
     
  3. Tallest Skil
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    There are no iMacs with DDR3. You can't use DDR3 period.
     
  4. pdjudd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #4
    Your Mac will not accept DDR 3, its not compatible. See here

    Incompatible with DDR2 motherboards (under disadvantages compared to DDR 2)
     
  5. veeco3110
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    veeco3110

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    brick nj
    #5
    Thank you guys. I figured as much. I have not the most recent iMac, the one before that. 2.4

    Anyways just a thought

    Thanks again
     

Share This Page