Dead hard drive - need temporary external hard drive solution

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Gwenyn, Jun 3, 2012.

1. Gwenyn macrumors newbie

Hello there. This is my first post, but I have been reading threads about similar problems to mine for the last week. Having read similar problems, I hope you can help me out with my specific situation, please. I'd be really grateful.

I have a mid-2008 iMac intel, mid-spec and the hard drive has died. (I've run diagnostics/repairs. It's dead).

I recently lost my job and therefore don't have the budget to replace my internal drive. I also live in the middle of bloody nowhere so am hours from the nearest Apple store in Manchester, and I frankly don't trust the locals (nor myself) to do the work. I'd say I'm a novice user, and am not sure I will be able to replace the internal drive myself.

I'd like to get a mid- to high-spec external hard drive to act as my temporary boot drive. I would need to rely upon this for about 3-6 months, just to get my lifeline back. From the threads I've read, I would be aiming for a Firewire 800 (I can't afford Thunderbolt). But I read in another thread that some of the older iMacs won't boot from Firewire. Does anyone know if my computer would boot from Firewire 800? Failing that, is there a decent-spec USB drive I could use? I know they're much slower, but I don't have much choice.

I mainly use Photoshop and Illustrator (100mb file sizes or less, generally) and Word. I'll stay off iTunes until my internal is replaced. I will need to work from the external and save to it. I have DropBox for backing up essential files. And yes, I have all my files backed up to DropBox, so recovery shouldn't be an issue.

Thank you in advance. Sorry to come to the forum with just a question. I do aim to help anyone else in the future if I can. I appreciate any thoughts you have.

2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

Macman45