dead pixels on First gen iphone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by vivithemage, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. vivithemage macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #1
    I got my iphone on here I think, it was 10/10 at the time and now it's 90 days or so out of factory warranty and it has over 5 dead/stuck pixels :(:(.

    can I do anything about it, that is free? Or do I just live with it?
     
  2. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #2
    Go to an Apple store, they'll probably swap it for you.
     
  3. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #3
    Like I said 99 days out of warranty...It's jailbroken but I can un jailbrake it.
    I don't have a contract with aT&T either...I am on TMobile
     
  4. striatedglutes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    For what it's worth, I had a piece of dust under my display on my 3G, and Apple swapped it for a refurb under warranty. The refurb had a dead pixel in the middle of the screen that I noticed during the first week of use, and they swapped that one out as well. I'm happy so far with my third 3G.
     
  5. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #5
    I do not care if it's a refurb...just want the dead pixels gone!

    Anyone have any luck swapping phones without being on AT&T contract and 90 days out of warranty?
     
  6. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    Last I heard you need at&t service in the U.S. in order to get service at the Apple store.
     
  7. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #7
    balls
     
  8. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #8
    You have to be on AT&T. Otherwise its unlocked, so your warranty's out.

    And also, you have a 1year warranty, not 90 days.
     
  9. striatedglutes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    I think the thread is dead now, but he means that it's been 90 days since the warranty ran out.
     
  10. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #10
    Ah, my reading skillz :/

    They suck.

    Just kidding, but seriously, I should've read clearer.
     
  11. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #11
    Apple will swap out the phone no matter how old believe me.

    They won't if it's some unlocked phone on another network though since they'll be swapping the sims etc.

    BUT! Why not try this.

    Restore the iPhone to the latest firmware so it's not jailbroke. Find a friend who has an at&t phone and swap out the sim so it's active on at&t. Not sure it will be active though, so maybe try hooking it up to iTunes and see, if not you might need to jailbreak it but don't install any install.app or anything so it looks legit.

    Then bring it in. Make sure you know your friends number because they will need it once they rehook up the new iPhone to iTunes to force activation at the store.

    Worth a shot I guess to get a swap.
     
  12. striatedglutes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #12
    That might work, but they've been running "behavior" scans on mine when I brought mine in. Tells them how many crashes/dropped calls/etc by day. No telling what it will show in that scenario described above.
     
  13. vivithemage thread starter macrumors 6502a

    vivithemage

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #13
    Any chances of that actually working? I have a lot of stuff on the phone at the moment :)

    Has anyone done that and succeeded?
     
  14. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #14
    True, they do have the ability to check logs. After a restore the logs are wiped, but if you jailbreak im sure it will show up somewhere.
     

Share This Page