Deal on MBP 1.83 Core Duo: Please Advise...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by InLikeALion, Dec 29, 2007.

1. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

I have the opportunity to buy a gen 1 MBP 1.83 Core Duo, 2GB ram, 80gig HDD for the low price of $600 plus shipping from the UK to the States.

About Me/My Needs: I am a graphic designer who does flash, web, and lots of print design, as well as the occasional video/motion graphics project. I am also a musician and am expanding my studio to include Logic Express (eventually Studio). Currently I have a PowerMac G5 DP 2Ghz tower. I have felt for a while the need to have a portable, in order to have mobility with my projects, to have the ability to go to clients when I free-lance, and to be able to work while on the road.

I am ultimately saving for a mid-to-high-end MBP to become my main machine, but with a wife and having to keep a tight budget it will take me the greater part of another year or so before I have the money for that machine. This seems like it could be a good stop-gap till then.

Does anyone think this is a good deal, or that it is a poor decision? I really appreciate this community's input and respect many of your opinions.

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

3. IMcD23 macrumors regular

IMcD23

Iowa, United States, Earth, Milky Way, . . .
    If you bought this, it would be longer still until you get the nicer one. Plus, for that price?? Watch out! It might be a fake!

4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

I'd want to see the machine in person and learn more about it.

Still, you need to take into account that the capital investment in hardware may yield a profit greater then what you invested.

My Macs have always earned part of their price back from projects I accomplish on them.

5. taylorwilsdon macrumors 68000

taylorwilsdon

Its coming from the UK to the US? Hahaha, ha. I can't believe anyone actually falls for this ****. How are you paying him? Western Union?

6. GreatDrok macrumors 6502a