iOS Deallocate nonatomic copy setter

igorland

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 4, 2014
Hello, World!

I have some experience in Java and C++ and this is my first experience with Objective C and iOS development. So, please bear with me if my question is silly.

I am trying to create non-atomic copy accessors, and I read everywhere that the object should be released at the end. So, if you could help me understand whether I am doing it properly, I would appreciate it. Will the following be correct?

Code:
    @interface ClassA: NSObject
    {
       NSString* stringA;
    }

@property (nonatomic, copy) NSString* stringA;

@implementation ClassA

@synthesize stringA;

-(void) setStringA: (NSString*) stringInput {
       if(stringA != stringInput) {
	      [stringA release];
	      stringA = [stringInput copy];
       }
    }

-(void) dealloc {
        [stringA release];
        [super dealloc];
    }
I am looking for a confirmation whether I need to deallocate stringA in the dealloc method at the end and whether I did it correctly.

Many thanks.

hollersoft

macrumors member
Feb 10, 2013
Can't help much except to suggest you ditch the manual memory management and use ARC. You could just call -copy on the input string, set your property and you're done.

You don't need @synthesize these days either. And I would not recommend having the property and instance variable with the exact same name - that's confusing. Stick with the standard convention where @property stringA is auto-synthesized using an instance variable _stringA.

igorland

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 4, 2014
Thanks a lot, guys!

hollersoft. I am working on a project for iPad/iPhone. Unless something has been changed recently, as far as I understand, it does not have ARC, therefore I need to release it manually.

Will the following be better?

Code:
@synthesize stringA = _stringA;

-(void) setStringA: (NSString*) stringInput {
       if(_stringA != stringInput) {
	      [_stringA release];