Deallocate nonatomic copy setter

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by igorland, Mar 4, 2014.

1. igorland macrumors newbie

Hello, World!

I have some experience in Java and C++ and this is my first experience with Objective C and iOS development. So, please bear with me if my question is silly.

I am trying to create non-atomic copy accessors, and I read everywhere that the object should be released at the end. So, if you could help me understand whether I am doing it properly, I would appreciate it. Will the following be correct?

Code:

@interface ClassA: NSObject
        {
           NSString* stringA;
        }

@property (nonatomic, copy) NSString* stringA;

@implementation ClassA

@synthesize stringA;

-(void) setStringA: (NSString*) stringInput {
           if(stringA != stringInput) {
    	      [stringA release];
    	      stringA = [stringInput copy];
           }
        }

-(void) dealloc {
            [stringA release];
            [super dealloc];
        }

I am looking for a confirmation whether I need to deallocate stringA in the dealloc method at the end and whether I did it correctly.

Many thanks.

2. hollersoft macrumors member

Can't help much except to suggest you ditch the manual memory management and use ARC. You could just call -copy on the input string, set your property and you're done.

You don't need @synthesize these days either. And I would not recommend having the property and instance variable with the exact same name - that's confusing. Stick with the standard convention where @property stringA is auto-synthesized using an instance variable _stringA.

3. xStep macrumors 68000

You are correct. In manual memory management you need to do that release in the dealloc. If you don't, you'll leak memory.

4. igorland thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks a lot, guys!