Deals Spotlight: AT&T Offering Apple TV 4K At No Cost When Signing Up for Fiber Internet

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Feb 11, 2019 at 11:49 AM.

  1. jlc1978 macrumors 68020

    jlc1978

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    #26
    For those of us that remember 300 baud and thought 2400 baid was amazing I find it humorous that 100 is considered slow.
     
  2. Plutonius macrumors 604

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire, USA
    #27
    Verizon bailed on New Hampshire awhile ago and I pay $65 (with taxes) for legacy 30M fiber internet with no cable channels.

    I could care less about the Apple TV but 100M fiber internet for $50 (taxes extra) got my interest.

    I need to check on availability but I doubt it includes New Hampshire :(.
     
  3. lec0rsaire macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2017
    #28
    Internet service with data caps is good for nothing. It doesn’t matter if it’s 100 mb or gigabit. 1 TB is NOTHING! Just two Xbox One X games already use around 200 GB. And those of us streaming a bunch of 4K DV/HDR10 content will blow through that amount in just over a week. And that’s just for entertainment.

    I have no much idea how data I consume since I’ve always had unlimited data in NYC since my dialup AOL 2.5 days (thank God no Comcast in NYC!). But it’s definitely a couple dozen TB if not more.
     
  4. sterlingindigo macrumors 6502

    sterlingindigo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    East Lansing
    #29
    Good luck streaming your 4K when the installer plugs in your modem to the fuggen phone line and tells you that although fiber is at the street, it hasn’t come up the driveway yet. Someday it will though, so just sign the contract and wait...it’ll come.
     
  5. Fiestaman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #30
    5TB is a low month for me. 20TB is more like it. All of that data is run through a VPN as well because screw AT&T and their DPI nonsense.
     
  6. KPandian1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    #31
    Suburb ATL - 1TB limit Comcast Coaxial ISP!:mad:

    Can buy the unlimited version, but no fiber optic in the pipeline. Fake GB service promised.:rolleyes:

    Options - only AT&T, non fiber optic.:mad::mad::mad:

    Staying with OTA/TiVo and streaming.:cool:

    Wonderful world of high bandwidth online gaming - not going there.:(
     
  7. EssentialGadget macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    #32
    I live in Houston and have been on ATT Fiber for a couple of months. Fantastic service. I regularly get 920 down/ 940 up wired. Just tested and am getting 918/918.

    No data limits.

    On google wifi pucks I get 380/380. Sometimes higher - can be lower if further from pucks.

    Highly recommend.
     
  8. spacemnspiff macrumors 6502a

    spacemnspiff

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Location:
    MD
    #33
    ATT seems to more expensive than providers in MD. I switch between Comcast and Verizon FIOS when the promotions ends. I was paying $50/mo for Comcast Blast Tier (250mbps), and I switched to Verizon FIOS paying $35/mo (100mbps).

    Verizon is offering Gig for $65/mo if I switch to that plan. Internet only plans are finally getting cheaper.
     
  9. kaufeenx macrumors newbie

    kaufeenx

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #34
    Has anyone with AT&T already tried to call and get a free device? Just looking to see if I did, would I be wasting my time?
     
  10. lederermc macrumors 6502

    lederermc

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Seattle
    #35
    The Directv STB is crappy 20th century hardware. My Genie takes 60 seconds to boot.
     
  11. deeddawg, Feb 12, 2019 at 9:26 AM
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019 at 9:36 AM

    deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #36
    Last I looked, I get a Speedtest result of 950Mbps on my AT&T fiber connection.

    Good enough?
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2019 at 9:30 AM ---
    The gigabit service has no data cap.

    You can also buy removal of the data cap for the 100 & 300Mbps services if you wish, though for the price you may as well just go to the gigabit level.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2019 at 9:31 AM ---
    Check for local/regional promos. I'm paying $70/mo for gigabit.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 12, 2019 at 9:35 AM ---
    The gigabit service doesn't have a data cap. You can buy removal of the cap on the 100 and 300 levels if you wish, but may as well just to go gigabit.

    Not everyone plays xbox games though, and using streaming TV we rarely peg more than 300-500GB in a month. Different folks have different needs.
     
  12. JLOBRO macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    #37
    Yeah, that's incorrect. on the "300" plan, the MOST you will see is 300mbps up or down, and the "1000" plan the most you will see is 940mbps, stated multiple times on ATT website itself.
     
  13. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #38
    No data cap at the gigabit tier -- and you can purchase removal of the cap at the lower tiers, though for the cost you may as well go to the gigabit tier.

    https://www.att.com/help/internet/usage.html

    BTW - in my area the only other provider is Comcast, who also has a 1TB data cap, even at the gigabit level. Costs $50/mo to remove the cap. Plus we all know how wonderful Comcrap's customer service is, right?

    I suppose one could just go back to a dialup ISP, no worries about a 1TB cap there.
     
  14. DBroncoMCG macrumors newbie

    DBroncoMCG

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Location:
    6086 Garden Towne Way, Orangevale CA 95662
    #39
    Thanks for the article. Went on line and Chatted to find out we can have the 1000 offer completed by the end of the month as Fiber is just becoming available in our area. Hopefully going from 50 to 1000 on fiber will be a marked improvement. Thanks MacRumors.
     
  15. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #40
    It is, though depending on your devices you might see 300Mbps over wifi. that's what I generally see with my MBP, though I do see more like 950Mbps when on wired ethernet.

    The really big difference was that the gigabit down is also gigabit UP. Comcast was also asynchronous speeds, much slower upload than down -- AT&T fiber is synchronous, same speed up as down. BIG difference uploading photos or for cloud backups.


    Ah yeah, for the AT&T haters, sure AT&T sucks as a company. I try not to deal with them any more than I have to.

    Thing is - my Internet access choices are AT&T or Comcast. That's it. No Verizon. No Google. No magic unicorn farts.

    On the other hand, my AT&T fiber internet bill is flat. No fees. No taxes. Just the service cost. That's all. Kinda refreshing.
     
  16. r8ders2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    #41
    FWIW, I live about a half mile from Apple Park and AT&T Fiber is not available. Hopefully, it will be as AT&T pricing is going to be about half the cost of Comcast Xfinity Gigabit service with the cap removal.
     
  17. OriginalAppleGuy macrumors 6502a

    OriginalAppleGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia
    #42
    For AT&T to place data caps on any plans tells me they either really suck at managing their network, or they are greedy FN bastards. No home internet service should have a cap. Sure, you can go with the 1000 plan for $20 more (an idiot wouldn't since 1 TB is the limit on lower plans). But this practice won't stop for them and I'm willing to bet they will place one on the 1000 plan or greatly increase the pricing on it at a later date. Remember what they did on cell service. Additionally, other internet providers may catch on to this practice.

    AT&T can keep their "free 4K" and stick it where the sun doesn't shine. They are betting with it, fools who buy the lower tier plans will quickly go over and they will make up their cost in the first month.

    For those who say they don't know what they use in a month - check the advanced settings of your router. it may show traffic usage like mine does. Based on current stats, I'm about 200MB over 1 TB / month currently and don't feel I'm a heavy user.

    Edited to add: Then the question is "how do they measure data"? is it down, or down/up. If down/up - which wouldn't surprise me, then whoa!
     
  18. deeddawg macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #43
    You realize this isn't a surprise to anyone, right? :)

    Where I live, a major metro suburb area, I have two choices for ISP - AT&T or Comcast. That's it.

    Both have 1TB data caps, *except* AT&T removes the cap at the gigabit tier. Comcast has a cap at the gigabit tier - unless you pay an exorbitant additional charge.

    So sure, yeah AT&T svcks. Comcast svcks worse tho, so I'm with AT&T. The service is actually very solid, none of the regular outages I used to have with Comcast. Plus, bringing fiber into my all they way inside to my backboard for no installation cost was pretty cool.
     

Share This Page