Death of an iBook - Diagnosis Please

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by cygni, Dec 9, 2007.

  1. cygni macrumors regular

    cygni

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #1
    I have a 1.42 Ghz G$ iBook that is basically a door stop right now.
    Last night, I restarted it because it was sluggish and it wouldn't boot again.
    Now when I press power, I hear the chime and nothing else.
    I attempted to boot from disk and no go. :(

    The computer turned exactly two years old at the end of October. I purchased it directly from Apple and it was not one of the logic board failure computers.
    So, any ideas as to what is wrong?
    I'm leaning toward hard drive failure, but, after two years??!?


    Eta: I reset the PRAM and PMU
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Does the screen turn on? If it does, what do you see?
     
  3. cygni thread starter macrumors regular

    cygni

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #3
    The screen is black, there isn't even a flicker.
     
  4. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    I had an iBook that had those symptoms, it turned out to be the logic board .. :eek:
    I do hope your problem is of the less costly variety.
     
  5. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #5
    That sounds like logic board to me. Good luck.
     
  6. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    That does sound like a bad logic board (or memory, maybe?? hopefully..). If it were the hard drive the screen would have lit up.
     
  7. cygni thread starter macrumors regular

    cygni

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #7
    I checked the serial numbers during logic board sh*tstorm after I first bought it and mine wasn't one of them. Did Apple extend it to other numbers or is it just any that fits the symptoms now?
     
  8. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Mine was outside warranty, but I was advised to phone Apple and give them a "sob" story. This I did and Apple decided to repair the iBook for free ... :)

    You know the old saying "Nothing ventured .. nothing gained"
     
  9. cygni thread starter macrumors regular

    cygni

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #9
    Thank you! And thanks to everyone else for the input!

    But for the price I paid for it, I refuse to do that.
    I'll take it to the apple store when I return to California and see if they can identify the issue; if it turns out to be the logic board, I expect free repairs.

    I mean, $1500 for a computer that has a barely two year and five week life span? My Blueberry iBook lasted five years with me as an owner and is still going strong with the family I sold it to, wow. :mad:
    I'm not even going to express how mad I am at losing the material I had just written on the iBook. I damn near broke down in tears on my way to the apple store to pic up a macbook.
     
  10. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    You can still get the data of the hard drive.
     
  11. cygni thread starter macrumors regular

    cygni

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #11
    Do tell!
    Does it involve a firewire?
    I do not have one or a firewire drive.
     
  12. heatmiser macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    #12
  13. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    Not sure as I never had to do it. I don't know if the Firewire trick will work if the logic board is dead, but I'm sure you can remove the drive to get the data off.
     
  14. cygni thread starter macrumors regular

    cygni

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    #14
    Thank you,
    I may know someone who can do this, he usually works with Linux OS, but hardware is hardware and I just need the data.
     

Share This Page