Debian On Clamshell iBook

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Dronecatcher, Sep 16, 2016.

  1. Dronecatcher macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #1
    Some interesting videos here on running a 3 month old OS on a 16 year old Mac :)

     
  2. apple apple macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    #2
    Very cool, I like it. I enjoy working with Linux and hope if more get onboard, we can somehow turn the tide on future Linux development on these oldies but goodies.
     
  3. swamprock macrumors 6502

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #3
    I posted a video of Debian Jessie running on a Wallstreet Powerbook, seen below:

     
  4. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #4


    I got Debian Jessie 8.4 running on my G3 beige with matching CRT too :)
     
  5. RhianB, Sep 16, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2016

    RhianB macrumors 6502

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #5
    I was just looking at these 20-40$ clamshells on eBay yesterday thinking the same thing. That would be a pretty cool little project I think ... That or run OS9 on it and have fun with the macintosh garden catalog. Cheap entertainment :)
     
  6. AmazingHenry macrumors 65816

    AmazingHenry

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Location:
    Central Michigan
    #6
    Cool! Once I upgrade my Clamshell's RAM, I'm going to try installing Debian. Hopefully it will perform well, but there's almost no chance of that. :(
    --- Post Merged, Sep 17, 2016 ---
    I just watched the video, and performance isn't really all that bad considering that that Clamshell has a 300MHz G3.
     
  7. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #7
    Never underestimate the mighty 300Mhz iBook......

    Professionals.jpg
     
  8. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #8
    Following the same obsessive and utterly pointless theme....
    I find it amusing that whilst Youtube playback is still a thorn in the side for PPC users, with a change of codec, here we have full screen 360P playback on Windows 95/Virtual PC/300Mhz iBook....

    MSD.png
     
  9. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
  10. Imixmuan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    #10
    I posted this here once, donkey's years ago, but just in case some of the newer punters haven't seen this, I present full screen, smooth video playback on a TWENTY year old 25 megahertz Quadra 700, with, are you ready for it, 20 MB of RAM and 512K of VRAM. I worked on this very mac back in the day, back when I was involved in desktop publishing. As Dronecatcher said, its all about the codec, in this case, Cinepak.

     
  11. RhianB macrumors 6502

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM USA
    #11
    Pardon the n00b question, but how does one get this codec on a PPC mac running tiger or leopard?
     
  12. Dronecatcher thread starter macrumors 68000

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #12
    All of my Macs have Quicktime Pro which includes it - don't know whether it comes with the standard version as that doesn't have any export options.
    MPEG Streamclip uses Quicktime codecs, and it's free - might be worth trying that?
     

Share This Page