Deciding between MB and MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jdstoddard, Feb 2, 2009.

1. jdstoddard macrumors member

Ok, so to make a story really short, I'm in the market for a laptop. I am a graphic designer that works in Photoshop and Dreamweaver with occasional flash work.

I am having the worst time deciding between a refurb Macbook 2.4GHz and a refurb MBP 2.4. I have read the "which laptop should I buy guide" but I was hoping to get some real world user feedback. I love the new style of the MB & MBP.

About me: I travel a lot. I have hauled around 15" laptops (including MBP) around and have been fine with it, but I am tempted at the MB because mainly of its cost savings, but the smaller screen seems nice as well.

My usage: 70% of the time is web surfing and updating with dreamweaver and writing emails. 20% of the time is in Photoshop. The last 10% is mainly watching movies and listening to music.

I'm curious if anyone has been able to accomplish all of this on the 2.4 Macbook. Was the screen size hard on you? My girlfriend has a 2 year old MB and I regularly use the screen and have no problem. People report having issues with the screen at odd angles, but who really works on a laptop diagonally?

Anyways, I would greatly appreciate your feedback! Sorry I wrote so much!

2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

I would get the 2.0 MacBook if I were you. For what you want to do it will be more than powerful enough, and I do the things you mention on mine just fine.

The 2.4 model is an extra expense for not much gain.

3. Scottsdale macrumors 601

Scottsdale