Deciding is hard! Opinions wanted.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by drober30, Dec 1, 2013.

1. drober30 macrumors 6502a

I have been using a MBA 11" since 2011. I think the little computer is amazing, however, my eyes have worsened and I have decided that my upgrade will be a 13" MBPr

Now I'm trying to decide if I should order the 16GB?

Regardless of what I'm using it for now, what do you think would be the best choice?

1. i5 16GB -
    2. i7 8GB -

If you had to choose between the two not knowing what you might start using your computer for in the future, which one would you pic? Both will cost $1999

2. PDFierro macrumors 68040

Go i5/16GB. You won't notice a big difference between the i5 and the i7, but someday you might really need that extra RAM.

3. Steve121178 macrumors 68040

Steve121178

i5/16GB

The i5 CPU is very powerful and you'll be glad to have the extra RAM especially for the long term.

4. Leisyu macrumors member

5. mwchris, Dec 1, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2013

mwchris macrumors regular

I would open up activity monitor and check it during your regular usage and see if you are using more of your CPU or more RAM. That will tell you which area you need to upgrade first.

Regardless if it were me I would buy one of the following:

1) Base level 15" rMBP - it cost the same as the higher end 13" and you get an i7 processor that is Quad Core and 8 gigs of ram, or

2) Spend $200 more and get the same above computer with 16 gigs of ram.

The reason I would go with the 15" Quad core is that the base model 15" performs more than 40% faster on average than the 13" dual core during multi tasks.

Generally speaking a faster processor on a dual core machine will be slightly faster than a slower processor on a quad core machine during regular tasks, but as the number of tasks increase and or require more resources the quad core will quickly surpass a core 2 duo machine.

6. ChildishGambino macrumors member