Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macstatic

macrumors 68010
Original poster
Oct 21, 2005
Norway
As a photography student I use Photoshop a lot and have started looking into buying a drawing tablet (believe it or not, I've been using my Powerbook's trackpad up to now!).
I aim for something which will be good enough for professional use (when I get there) as opposed to buying something I'll outgrow in a short time.
At the same time I don't have money to burn and want to avoid using $$$ on features I don't need or won't even notice.

I read somewhere that the lower resolution of the Bamboo range means that I get the occasional "glitch" or involuntarily "jump" of the mouse pointer while the Intuos are rock steady. I certainly don't want that. Is that the way it works?

And what about size? What's the difference between getting a large and small tablet?

OpenThirdeye

macrumors member
Aug 22, 2007
Indianapolis, IN
My wife's a photographer and she has a few Wacom tablets.

She SWEARS by the Intuos and Cintiq lines - she says that the Bamboos are cheaply made and the tracking on them is nowhere near what you'll get with an Intuos.

She has the 12x19 (desk) and a 6x8 (traveling) Intuos and the Cintiq 21ux (only had this for about 3 months). She thinks that the 12x19 is actually too big most of the time and uses the 6x8 a heck of a lot more - it's really personal preference.

macstatic

macrumors 68010
Original poster
Oct 21, 2005
Norway
How would I notice any difference between a small and a large tablet?
Why does your wife have differently sized tablets?