Decision on Mac Pro Single vs dual processor

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Jaredrieger, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. Jaredrieger macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys

    I'm new to the forum. :D

    I am a music producer whos looking to move from windows to mac, main reason being is that Logic pro is the probably the best software out there on the market, the functions and layout of logic has really persuaded me to move from ableton to logic. but my main issue obviously is that i dont have a mac pro.

    now i have been looking at the needs and requirements and i can say from experience that music production has been extremely intensive, and i often find my self opening several instances of Kontact Massive Omnisphere Trillian sylenth so on so on, all these large library VST. on top of that i sample in real time WAV format sounds.

    the answer probably would seem obvious and thats durrr get the dual core, but it slides in at a very expensive 3500, and i still have to buy SDD's, a large sound interface and dual monitors. another reason why i mention this is that i have that i need dual CPU to go above 8GB of ram but when i am in the MAC store they say a quad core can go up to 32GB,

    in conclusion for Music production what Specs should i be looking at if i am to be opening large music files and complex projects, how much is a dual core going to enhance logic pro?

    cheers :D
     
  2. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #2
    Hello,

    Don't know Logic, so can't help you with single or dual core. That info should be on their website though.

    As for the RAM (not sure I understand what you mean), a single CPU 2009 (or more recent) MP can go up to 48GB, despite what Apple says.

    Loa
     
  3. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #3
    With both intel's and apple's increased focus on multi-threading, i'd get as many cores as you can afford, irrespective of use.

    However, obviously there's a bit of a trade-off as to how many you can use within the life-span of your machine.

    Are there forums for logic pro? I'd ask there and see what sort of gear people are running and how it works.
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    Logic is one of the better supporters of multi-core. As much as you can give it it can use. That in mind, high GHz is also good. But the OP needs major amounts of memory for all the VI's.
    http://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-computers/371545-logic-pro-multicore-benchmarktest.html
    Read though this stuff. The Books look good on paper but they are Memory limited. You probably want at least 24GB of memory and the 6-core 3.33GHz. An 8-core 2009 2.93GHz is super nice and may cost less. It's up to your budget.
    More goodies:
    http://online.sae.edu/blog/managing-cpu-usage-logic-pro
    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3919?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US
     
  5. Jaredrieger thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    #5
    thanks guys for such a quick response!!

    i did see that for load management that logic could delegate processes to free cores, which i thought was quite good.

    i am also trying to keep in mind though that even though the 2012 mac is the fastest(i hope so :/) how much faster is compared with a 2010 8 quad model with respect to price. on the website i found a refurbished model

    heres the link

    http://store.apple.com/au/product/FC561X/A

    also thanks for those links much appreciated

    thanks!
     
  6. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #6
    Hello,

    2010 and 2012 Mac Pros are basically the same machine if you spec them the same way. So go with the cheapest, prefereably refurbs.

    Loa
     
  7. dmax35 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #7
    You can pick up a Mac Pro 3.3 6 core from B&H photo for $2,999.00.
     
  8. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #8
    You can convert a used 2009SP to 2010 6 core 3.33 for well under $2000 total. Search and ye shall find out how.
     
  9. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #9
    If a hex can be found for cheaper than the 8-core 2.4GHz I'd do that unless you know you'll need more than 32GB of memory as the larger sticks have diminishing returns. Either one is great for Logic but the 6-core overall and for other uses will be better/ longer lasting. Does it really matter to have 100 or 105 tracks as a purchase decision? Those are kind of the margins. Memory again is key and any other uses you'll want for it aside from web and Word computing as they both do that just fine. The 6-core games quite a bit faster for example. As stated 2009 conversions are great if you are comfy with HW tinkering.
     

Share This Page