Decisions, Decisions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AeonSamurai, Mar 19, 2011.

1. AeonSamurai macrumors newbie

Hi all, this'll be my first post here. I'm currently a sophomore in college, computer science major, and I'm debating between a 13 inch MBP and a 15 inch MBP. Oh, it'll also be my first mac.

I kinda want the 13 inch just for the weight because I carry my laptop almost all the time (at the moment, I have a frigging 6.7 pound laptop that I lug around everywhere), but I'd like the screen real-estate of the 15 inch + the power it has. I do a bit of gaming (StarCraft II; nothing heavier than that). I don't do video encoding/editing or photo editing, but since I'm in a graphics class, I might render a little (though even this laptop can handle it without a problem).

So what do you all think? 13 inch vs 15 inch for this situation. Also, I'd like to know your first impressions with either machine if you'd like to share.

2. sammjordan macrumors member

You can pick up a nice external monitor for the 13" for added screen space..can't do anything about the weight of a 15"

Go 13 :D

3. AeonSamurai thread starter macrumors newbie

Whoa, thanks for the quick response! If possible, I'd really like not to buy an external monitor, since I can't really carry it around. The 15 inch one is about 5.5 lbs right? It's pushing it...but it's lighter than my current one at 6.7. Can anyone comment on carrying it around?

4. Hellhammer Moderator

Hellhammer

Staff Member

If gaming isn't important, then the Intel HD 3000 should be fine. It gives you around 50FPS in SC2 @1280x800 with medium graphics/textures. Otherwise the 13" should be more than plenty for your usage. Like suggested above, get an external monitor if you want more screen estate.

Of course there is the option of 13" MBA which has 1440x900 screen and is even more portable but lacks some CPU power.

5. Kyzelios macrumors 6502