Default External HDD not showing up in Snow Leo.. possibly ejected improperly. help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by th3g1z, Feb 26, 2010.

1. th3g1z macrumors newbie

So I'm no expert to mac's.. and I'm having some troubles that I hope someone could help me figure out. There are cliffs at the bottom if you don't want to read the whole post.

I have a 2TB external HDD (WD MyBook) connected via FireWire to my Mac Mini
    It is configured in RAID 1, mirroring.

EDIT: After running Repair Disk from DiskUtility I got this message: "Disk Utility can’t repair this disk. Back up as many of your files as possible, reformat the disk, and restore your backed-up files."

I have had it connected for a few months now, used it as my Time Machine drive, and for an assortment of other backup stuff as well.

The other day I needed to transfer some larger documents to another computer, and my (dumb) self didn't eject the drive properly from within Snow Leopard first, I just yanked the cable out of the machine.

Well of course SnowLeo error popped up saying that I had ejected it improperly but it would try to fix everything the next time I plugged it back in.

I plug it back in it would not come up as a drive, so I try and unplug/replug a few times and I forget the error it said but something to the effect of it had tried to mount it 3 times and that there may be data loss, also it mentioned it would show up as a Read-Only drive so that I could back up data and then I guess reformat the drive. Well I click on the MyBook drive icon (It showed up as a folder rather than as the Time Machine icon). And I was not able to see anything, just the little thing that spins in circles while the drive is thinking at the bottom right.

So I power the thing down again and rebooted my mac a few times too just to see if it would help, and no it didn't. Now the drive doesn't even show up as a folder or anything for that matter, the icon has just disappeared.