Default source on Samsung TVs

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by bgrace, Jan 9, 2018.

  1. bgrace macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #1
    I have a 2017 Samsung television and Apple TV is the only device plugged in to it (HDMI 1). When I press a button on the Apple TV remote, it wakes both Apple TV and the Samsung, but the Samsung turns on to the default “TV” source which displays “No Signal” since I have no antenna or cable box. Once I press a button on the Apple TV remote again, the Samsung switches to Apple TV/HDMI 1. Does this happen to anyone else using a recent Samsung TV? Is there any way to set the Samsung to turn on to the Apple TV source each time?
     
  2. bgrace thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
  3. comics addict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    #3
    I have a recent Samsung 4K TV and a Apple TV 4 Connected to HDMI port 2. Have the HDMI-CEC feature turn on my Samsung settings. Every time I turn on my Apple TV it automatically turns on my TV and when I turn it off so does the TV set. Not sure why your experiencing this.
     
  4. bgrace thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #4
    To clarify - my Samsung TV does turn on when I wake Apple TV and turns off when I put Apple TV in sleep mode. The issue that I am experiencing is that when I wake Apple TV, my Samsung always turns on to the "TV" source, which shows static since I don't have a antenna or cable box. Is there a way to make the Samsung turn on to the Apple TV (HDMI) source instead?
     
  5. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 604

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #5
    Have you tried other HDMI ports?

    Have you turned on CEC (Anynet) on your Samsung TV? And your :apple:TV? Have you use the other option in the Anynet menu probably called "Devices" or similar to scan for and discover the :apple:TV as an Anynet device?

    Have you tried a different HDMI cable just to rule out any flaw in the one you are using?

    If you go through the above and nothing works, one option would be to buy yourself a macro-capable learn remote and set the on button to replicate what you you are doing now: :apple:TV on (which turns on your Samsung) + (maybe) "menu" on the :apple:TV as a macro sequence.

    But I'm betting you haven't turned on CEC on both devices and/or haven't scanned for :apple:TV as a device in the Anynet menu on the TV. Samsung TVs seem to have a little bit of CEC working whether Anynet is turned on or not but I suspect fuller functionality is tied with actually turning it on, scanning for devices and turning it on in the linked devices too.
     
  6. Casaron macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #6
    Don’t know if this will help in any way, but there is something weird about HDMI 1.

    I’ve got a 2015 Samsung, and for the last few years I’ve utilised all three hdmi ports, with one of them connected to a switch allowing me to have a few extra hdmi devices as well. Anyway, I decided to have a tidy up, and got rid of boxes, and was left with three devices. Initially I connected:-

    Hdmi 1 - Apple TV 4
    Hdmi 2 - iptv box
    Hdmi 3 - Sly box (don’t use it much)

    So, video, but no sound on 1. (2 & 3 worked fine) Swapped 1 & 2, and video but no sound on iptv (but others ok). So put Sly box on 1 with same result ie no audio.

    So fiddled with source button, and renamed Hdmi 1 to “Satellite STB” and bingo, got sound back!

    So all works, BUT when I wake the Apple TV, it does turn on the tv ok, but seems to default to whichever Hdmi was used last, so COULD be a blank screen!

    Maybe put the Apple TV on 2 or 3? I dunno!
     
  7. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 604

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #7
    Yes, try HDMI 2 and 3.

    And try swapping HDMI cables to rule out cable issues.

    And go into your TV settings and you'll probably find a setting that is associated with turning on with "last used" (HDMI port).

    Did you try the suggestions in post #5? If so, what happened with each?
     
  8. bgrace thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #8
    Tried it with HDMI 2 and 3; different HDMI cable - no change. All of this has been with CEC (Anynet+) turned on. Tried turning CEC off, and it actually resolves the issue partially. With CEC disabled, when I turn Apple TV back on, the Samsung turns on to Apple TV (HDMI 1/last used source). The problem that I’ve found with having CEC turned off is that sometimes the Samsung does not turn on when I wake Apple TV and the Samsung does not turn off when the Apple TV goes into sleep mode automatically.
     
  9. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 604

    HobeSoundDarryl

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    #9
    I have a Samsung TV too and am generally a fan of Samsung TVs. However, I find Anynet and :apple:TV to be a shaky connection. So I generally operate with Anynet (CEC) off.

    I think I recall a setting in the TV menus that would turn the set off after some user selectable number of minutes of inactivity. If that exists in your TV settings that might be a way to somewhat resolve the issue with CEC off. It won't turn the TV off in sync with :apple:TV going to sleep but the latter will probably kick off the timer and then the TV will shut itself off after the chosen time has passed.

    I would do some HDMI cable swapping tests just to rule out the cable.

    In my case, I have shifted CEC-like functionality out to a learning remote that can execute macros from Universal Remote Control, Inc. I dedicate a button to each AV device and assign a macro to run when that button is pushed. It handles turning on each device, switching to the right inputs, etc. One Off button is programmed with a macro to turn everything off when it is pushed. This puts me in control of CEC-like functionality instead of hoping various AV equipment are CEC-compatible enough to work well together. Since it's a learning remote, if I add anything new to the AV stack, it can "learn" the new remote so it can evolve as my AV equipment evolves. This may be an option for you too.
     
  10. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #10
    The delay in switching to correct HDMI input is the same in my Sony-system. I think the root cause here is the timing on the CEC bus and the slow boot time of my Android TV in general. So I give time to my Bravia to get up and ready and then repeat the aTV Play/Home/Menu command.
    HDMI CEC is so slow bus (500bps), that I would rule out any cable issues here. Unless CEC pin is completely unconnected/broken.
    Advice to use IR commander with macros given by HobeSoundDarryl is the best alternative to CEC by far. Also the most foolproof. Even better than any IR-blaster types of solutions.
     
  11. artifishall macrumors newbie

    artifishall

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    #11
    I has this problem as well. What I did, was go to settings > general > start set up and set up the TV from scratch. When It asked me if I get TV over the Air or with a cable box I selected cable box and the HDMI my Apple TV is connected to. Now it starts up with the Apple TV.
     
  12. gobort macrumors newbie

    gobort

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    #12
    That fixed it for me! Thanks!
     
  13. bgrace thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #13
    I did the Start Setup but I do not get the option to select over-the-air or cable box. The Samsung recognizes my Apple TV on HDMI 1 and that’s it. Which Samsung TV do you have and does your setup screen look like this? Mine is the UN55MU6300 (2017). Do you only have one source (Apple TV) plugged into the Samsung?

    3A0C4B02-DA15-4F54-999D-AB7833B015E0.jpeg
     
  14. tyke65 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #14
    Which Apple TV are you using? My apologies if it’s been said and I’ve missed it. You need an ATV4 at least for this to work fully.
     
  15. bgrace thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
  16. an-other macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #16
    Glad to hear you have it working. I think the overall issue is setting your CECS options. It's what reads your blue ray player, cable box, etc.
     
  17. Acorn macrumors 68020

    Acorn

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    macrumors
    #17
    when I turn on my samsung tv it sits at the menu option to select cable tv or something else like netflix. I believe there was a setting that would cause it to connect to the last source that was used. so if last used was netflix it would choose netflix when you turned the tv on and if it was cable it would choose cable or apple tv if it was last used.
     
  18. tyke65 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #18
    When I switch my ATV4 on, my tv (Samsung, about 2 years old) switches on (if it was not on) and switches to the ATV HDMI source, I have the ATV plugged into HDMI 3. When I put the ATV to sleep, it goes to sleep, switches the TV back to the TV source then switches the TV off.

    The TV is switched off even if it was on when the TV was switched on, a nuisance at times.

    When the TV is switched on other than via the ATV it comes back on to the source it was on when it was switched off.
     
  19. rsk1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    #19
    I have had this same issue as described by bgrace. The solutions that worked here for some have not worked for me. bgrace - did you ever find a solution that worked for you? I am nearing the end of time that I can return my Samsung TV (to Costco) - which also turns on by itself in the middle of the night (trying to figure that one out as well).

    Thanks.
     
  20. bgrace thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #20
    Still do not have a solution. Just living with it - it's more of an annoyance than anything.
     
  21. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #21
    Your problem sounds like, when Apple TV first wakes up, it needs some time to "boot up," to shoot a video signal out fully so the TV can recognize it right away, so it's a matter of timing, the chicken or the egg syndrome, which I found out, a long time ago, can be managed by a snazzy universal remote (with programmable delays, macros of course). Like the other fellah says, I find while CEC sounds useful, in real life it doesn't do what I want, so I have programed my universal to i.e.: first turn on the ATV, give it 10 seconds to fully boot up, then go ahead and turn on the TV, and switch to HDMI, all with a single button push of course because that's what a fully programmable remote does. :)
     
  22. rsk1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
  23. aiyaya815 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2018
    #23
    Is there a way to set default source? so it wouldn't ask what kind of source i want every time when the Samsung TV power on
     

Share This Page