Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LReyes66

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 21, 2009
I work as a tech for geeksquad and work in the back fixing mostly. But when elderly or REALLY clueless people ask me technical questions I struggle translating it into a comprehensible way they can fully:confused: understand and learn.

How would you define each of these terms so that a grandmother would be able to understand in detail?:

PC
Mac
Hardware
Software
RAM
Operating System
Internet
Webpage
Flashdrive
iPad
Email
Desktop

mobilehaathi

macrumors G3
Aug 19, 2008
The Anthropocene
  • PC - Personal computer; a computer that doesn't take up an entire room
  • Mac - A type of personal computer that uses particular operating system
  • Hardware - the physical pieces in a computer and connecting to a computer
  • Software - the programs that make the hardware work for you
  • RAM - temporary information storage for software while it runs
  • Operating System - basic software that directs the operation of other software and manages the hardware resources
  • Internet - a network of interconnected computers that communicate with each other
  • Webpage - a way to serve information from one computer to another
  • Flashdrive - a small piece of hardware that you plug into your computer to store files; often used to transfer them to another computer
  • iPad - a small flat computer about the size of a piece of paper
  • Email - it is like mail, but electronic; you can send it over the internet
  • Desktop - a larger computer that isn't easily portable; sits on your desk top

And

macrumors 6502
Feb 23, 2009
92 ft above sea level, UK
PC - Politically Correct computing.
Mac - Typical computer operator clothing
Hardware - The exact opposite of software
Software - The exact opposite of hardware
RAM - The required action for putting a CD in a slot loader
Operating System - Something a surgeon adheres to