Definitely keeping my 1080 Ti now.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AndreeOnline, Apr 24, 2017.

  1. AndreeOnline, Apr 24, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2017

    AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #1
    Blackmagic Design just introduced their new version of DaVinci Resolve 14.

    It now supports OpenCL, CUDA and Metal. Nice!

    Comparing CUDA to CUDA performance is up 45-60% and the Nvidia cards gets used to its full potential.

    At the same time BMD drops the price for the full Studio Version from $999 to $299. Easiest money ever spent. I'd buy if even if the free version was good enough, just to support their disruptive mission.

    At the same time, even if GPU acceleration in Maxwell Render should be regarded as 'experimental' at this stage, when it works it's 10x as fast as via my 12 cores of CPU. I hope the technology matures quickly. It's easy to see how powerful it is.

    It has been an interesting weekend for sure. Verdict: I'm sticking with my card!
     
  2. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    #2
    Are you working in FCPX by any chance?
     
  3. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #3
    Yes.
     
  4. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
  5. itdk92 macrumors 6502

    itdk92

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    #5
    How is the performance there?
     
  6. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #6
    FCPX has never had performance issues. I have find running Bruce X gives you a very theoretical value at best. You can have a setup that takes twice the time to export that file, but feels exactly the same when actually working in FCPX.

    I have a separate thread concerning OpenCL and the 1080 Ti. The card scores twice as high as the 480X in Luxmark, but has serious issues in Resolve 12.5 in OpenCL mode—to the point that something is broken. It works better in FCPX. The jury is still out on what to expect regarding final OpenCL performance.

    I have not worked sufficiently in FCPX to say something conclusive about the 1080 Ti there, but my 4k ProRes files plays back with zero issues, obviously.

    I wasn't limited in FCPX with my 280X either.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 24, 2017 ---
    I'd tell you if I knew by heart, but are you rather waiting for my answer here, than checking their webpage?? =)
     
  7. Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    To be clear, BMD has dropped the price on DaVinci Resolve Studio 12.5. I suspect this is on the heels of an upcoming release that will be full price, I wouldn't expect this to be a permanent price drop but that would be great if it is.

    I'll be keeping my eyes on it to see what happens.
     
  8. aaronhead14 macrumors 6502

    aaronhead14

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #8
    Yes, but it's the non-ControlSurface Linux version (because that version costs $30,000). It's essentially the same though (minus the insane cost), except you can't encode ProRes. (With the $30,000 Linux version you can encode ProRes).
     
  9. AndreeOnline thread starter macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #9
    Weeeellll.... in the email I got it says the price for the new version 14 Studio is $299, so I'll take that.
     
  10. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #10
    Ah, so it's useless then because the majority of (mine at least) clients want prores deliverables that pass QC. Makes business sense for them though to keep that critical feature only for the highest end product.

    I can probably track down a full Linux dongle secondhand if I tried. Always wanted to switch to Linux and build monster quad GPU dual CPU rigs and also encode prores too. Have my cake and eat it.
     
  11. aaronhead14, Apr 24, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2017

    aaronhead14 macrumors 6502

    aaronhead14

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #11
    Exactly. That's my main issue as well. I'm stuck with doing all my intermediate work in Resolve using other codecs like DNxHR and Cineform (my color station is a Windows PC so I can make it more powerful than a Mac), and then I have to move to my Mac to do a final ProRes master. It would be really nice if either 1) Apple would release a Mac Pro with the power that I need, or 2) Apple would license ProRes to Blackmagic Design and Adobe to use in either Windows or Linux.

    Don't quote me on this, because I'm not 100% sure, but I think the Linux dongle requires that you use the $30,000 panel in order for it to function. So you'd need to track down a panel in addition to the dongle. As of a few weeks ago though, the Linux software works with any dongle, it just won't export ProRes unless you have the $30,000 panel attached... I think.
     
  12. Yahooligan macrumors 6502a

    Yahooligan

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    Nice, if that's the case then I'll take it for a spin and see how I like it compared to FCPX. $299 is much easier to swallow.
     
  13. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #13
    Well, allegedly there are Xeon E3 iMacs coming this year and a redesigned Mac Pro next year (?) with a focus on modularity so we'll see where that goes. For now, I deliver content from 2K up to UHD just fine with my 2013 6-core/D500. It's really about the storage speed at this point, if you're on a TB2 RAID or 10GBe SAN then you should be fine. Even USB 3 gets the job done. That's what most of my clients always hand me. It only takes ~150MB/s (continuous) to work with 4K smoothly IIRC thats what one of the RED guys told me.

    Speaking of which, I've also never had an issue working with 4K/6K RAW either, but I have yet to try 8K RAW (from one of the newer REDs) with it. All flavors and resolutions of prores are smooth on this machine. Coloring RAW seems to tax it the most but it still gets the job done in a decent amount of time. The only thing that makes my 6,1 actually slow to a crawl is NeatVideo, but that's an infamous plugin that doesn't run smooth on anything aside from quad GPU / 40-core monsters.

    This also isn't really a VFX machine but that side of the industry has always been PC for as long as I can remember.

    I'll be looking at whatever the next mac pro (7,1?) is and either upgrading to that or going Linux for heavy lifting and MBP for everything else.
     
  14. aaronhead14 macrumors 6502

    aaronhead14

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    #14
    Yeah, I'll be upgrading to the new 2018(9?) Mac Pro if it truly is modular. Current Mac Pros are too sluggish when I grade R3Ds. I guess it depends on the amount of nodes you use though. And NR makes a huge difference. It kills your system if you're on an old GPU.
     
  15. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #15
    So am I.

    Thanks for the note of the new DaVinci Resolve price.
     

Share This Page