Delete files – always 'delete immediately' dialogue

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by salty15, Jan 24, 2016.

1. salty15 macrumors newbie

Hi there, hope this is the correct place to post this problem!

I have a iMac 27-inch, mid-2011 running El Capitan 10.11.1.

A week or so ago, I was unable to delete files from my Trash, so Googled for some way to force delete the items (as you used to be able to in earlier iterations of OSX). I found the following terminal line: sudo rm -rf ~/.Trash /Volumes/*/.Trashes (from here: http://apple.stackexchange.com/questions/209031/how-do-i-force-the-trash-to-empty-on-el-captan). This did the trick, but, ever since, every time I go to delete a file, I get the 'will be deleted immediately' dialogue and the file is indeed deleted immediately, without going into Trash. I am a novice Mac user (as you will probably have gathered!) so don't understand what the Terminal line did that I entered (the place I found it said that its purpose was just to empty the trash – I try to be very careful when running terminal, as I know that it can cause major problems!).

Any advice on how I can reverse the command and get my deleted files going to my Trash again as normal would be greatly appreciated.

2. Toutou macrumors 6502a

Toutou

The commands you have used do empty the trash, but they even delete the trash itself. Your account's trash is located in the ".Trash" folder in your home directory. OS X is supposed to create a new .Trash for you in case you accidentally delete it. Have you tried logging out or restarting the machine since this started happening?

3. Fishrrman macrumors G4

Sounds like some kind of permission/ownership problem with the trash...

Try googling this:
    "os x trash deletes immediately fix"

4. nightcap965 macrumors 6502a

nightcap965

Do not do things from the command line unless you have some knowledge of Unix. The MacOS X user interface can protect you from yourself. The command line, not so much.