Deleted files: Code suggestions for OS scan?

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by MacMouse, Oct 31, 2011.

1. MacMouse macrumors newbie

Hi friends!

I'm new to this forum - hi to you all :)

I have made the mistake updating my iPad with another computer resulting in loss of >800 important files and therefore I have spend some time now seraching for appropriate tools to undelete the files - without luck.

So I'm wondering - why not write the tool myself. I'm a professional programmer on .Net and have been for many yeras. But I'm new in Cocoa and objective c. Never the less I know c/c++ very well.

Enough of talk. Can you guys perhaps give me some pointers on where to begin. Perhaps some snippet of code to check out or a book or some other ressource. I have the nessecary development tools at hand - I hope.

Also, I wonder, is the OS/FAT of iPad locked in some way since there is almost no tools for this for public download? Just wondering. I have spend weeks searching the web and AppStore without good results.

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,
    Michael, Copenhagen, DK.

2. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

ArtOfWarfare

You're probably out of luck.

Applications in iOS have very limited access to any files outside of their own bundles. You might be able to do something if you jailbreak the device, but I have no knowledge of how to do that, or what you should do after jail breaking it to do what you want.

3. jiminaus macrumors 65816

jiminaus

Presumably the filesystem on an iPad is HFS+. But that information would do you no good. iOS is highly locked down. You won't be able to access the sectors of the filesystem from either a Mac or PC connected to your iPad, or from an iPad app installed on the device.

4. MacMouse thread starter macrumors newbie

iOS is highly locked down?

Someone must know something here... there *must* be at path to follow. Say I jail-break it... A bit-by-bit copy into another OS/device must be possible then - or?

Kind regards,