Deleted Limewire, now use acquisition

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ronsju, Dec 30, 2008.

1. ronsju macrumors newbie

I've been using limewire on my mac for the past 3 months now and just yesterday, my computer slowed down pretty bad. My download speed was slow and my firefox wasn't responding. Anybody else have this problem with limewire. I like acquisition much better. It gives more detailed and harder to find search results. When I went to buy DJ equipment, the salesman told me buy a mac and use limewire, that's what all the DJs do. I took his advice and 3 months later freakin limewire almost ruined my mac. What do you think of Acquisition? Its not as virus infected as limwire? right? I like the Acquisition app. so I officially deleting limewire from my macbook pro.

Thanks
    Ron

2. ronsju thread starter macrumors newbie

I just want to add, I deleted limewire yesterday, and my computer is running so much faster now. Before I could not download transmission and today it took less than 10 s to download. LIMEWIRE IS THE WORST. JUST A HAVEN FOR VIRUSES.

3. SHADO macrumors 6502a

SHADO

Well since Acquisition and Limewire download the same files, I think you'll find that as you start to download more files, your computer will slow down. But that's what DiskWarrior or Drive Genius 2 are for!

4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

Except you're on a Mac, so there aren't any viruses, rendering your point moot.

5. dXTC macrumors 68020

dXTC

I believe the MacRumors official stance is "Don't steal music."

As Limewire's downloads are free and Limewire is not providing any compensation to the artists/labels featured in the files it shares, users are, in the RIAA's eyes, "stealing" music.

...With that having been said...