deleted my trash "folder" PLEASE help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by FLY., Jul 30, 2009.

1. FLY. macrumors newbie

i had this problem, that i couldn't delete a file from my trash can, so i followed a link i found in a thread where some one had the same problem as i did, in the link i found a guide that said i should go to terminal and enter "sudo rm -rf ~/.Trash" so i did, and yea my trash can was now empty, but then i tried to delete a file by dragin' it into my trash can in the dock, my macbook now tells me that the file will be deleted INSTANT, i search the internet again and found out that my problem was that the command i intered in terminal (sudo rm -rf ~/.Trash) deleted my trash directory

so i guess i now need to REcreate my trash, can anybody PLEASE give me a guide on how to do that im realy lost, + im new to mac

2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

geoffreak

3. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

what you should have done (probably) is missing a final slash and then it would do what you want.

If you had a ~ in the first command you probably also need one in the second though. i.e. sudo mkdir ~/.Trash.

4. geoffreak macrumors 68020

geoffreak

No, I think the tilde means a relative directory? Where is the trash directory located in Mac OSX anyways?

5. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

~/foo means a subdirectory called foo in the home directory.

/foo means a subdirectory called foo in the root directory (Macintosh HD).

foo means a subdirectory called foo in the current directory (when Terminal starts this is the home directory).

6. FLY. thread starter macrumors newbie

now i did the sudo "mkdir /.Trash" and i can now drag things to my trash but i can not empty it

7. Eraserhead macrumors G4

Eraserhead

^^ Probably the permissions are wrong on it.

I'm not sure, I'd guess in the root.

8. geoffreak macrumors 68020

geoffreak