Deleteing Developer tools off my mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MacBoii56, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. MacBoii56 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    U.S.A
    #1
    hey
    im trying to get rid of my 3.1.2 dev tools because im upgrading to 3.1.3
    and i try this "sudo perl /Developer/Tools/uninstall-devtools.pl" but after i do that in terminal is says cant find the unistaller for devtools so can anyone help find a way to get rid of these devtools thanks!
     
  2. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    Since youre just going from 3.1.2 to 3.1.3 cant you just drag the HD/Developer folder to the trash and then install 3.1.3. Im pretty sure thatll then overwrite any files it needs that are anywhere else.
     
  3. benjamin747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #3
    Try: sudo /Developer/Library/uninstall-devtools

    If that still doesn't work use these 2 scripts attached. Use the uninstall devtools first. (Double click it)

    I hope you enjoy them!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. kernkraft macrumors 68020

    kernkraft

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #4
    library/uninstall-devtools
    and cache too, I think. All the usual suspects. There is an app for clearing out all the junk...
     
  5. benjamin747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #5
    This is basically over. Those are the scripts he needed.
     
  6. MacBoii56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    U.S.A
    #6
    wondering

    i was wondering if i just download 3.1.3 will just overwrite the files and just install the 3.1.3 editon over the 3.1.2 so its sorta like updating developer tools

    could i just do that?
     
  7. benjamin747 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #7
    Well I haven't checked if there are more files. Your best bet is to use those scripts than install 3.13...
     
  8. MacBoii56 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Location:
    U.S.A
    #8
    reply

    you can just install 3.1.3 then it will overwrite the 3.1.2 files because when i install my 3.1.3 it says that it is upgrading not install so i guess you can just overwrite them thanks for the files anywase and i was wondering if you would want to join my forum im gonna start making its called


    http://www.virtualeagle.freeforums.org/

    this forum is almost like macrumors i want to make this forum almost like it but better and was wondering if you would like to join i would make your a mod and once we get 15$ donated ill make it http://www.virtualeagle.com

    so come in join!
    ill send you a email so i can start talkin with you more
     

Share This Page