Deleting Preference Folder/Files List On Leopard 10.5.8?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Bazzy, Jan 21, 2010.

1. Bazzy macrumors regular

Hi All!

I have a June 2009 17" 2.8 UMBP which has been driving me mad with near constant beach balls! I run no intensive programmes at all - just emails & surfing the net!

I originally used migration assistant from a Tiger MBP to this one & read that I may have corrupted Tiger P-Lists transferred over to my Leopard One. I would like to ask, how can I get rid of/delete my current preferences list to see if that fixes the problem - it did with another person who also transferred from Tiger to Leopard with Migration Assistant!

Will I lose anything by deleting the Preferences Folder/Files? I think I read somewhere that OS X automatically replaces them with current versions if that is correct? Ae Preference Lists taken care of too when deleting the folder/files?

I am a novice so please treat me like a 4 year old who needs very step by step instructions!

Many Thanks All,

Suave!

Link to data referred to:

Consistent spinning beachball - http://archive.macfixitforums.com/ubbthreads.php/topics/454269/1

2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

I also have 10.5.8

Your preferences are in the following location:
    Users/YourUserName/Library/Preferences
    Of course, I don't know what your user name is, but you do!

I wouldn't get rid of all of them at once. In fact, the recommended procedure is to move a suspect to the Desktop, then start the application it is for, which does in fact reproduce the file. The new one automatically gets placed in that Preferences folder, and it resets the application's preferences to default settings. Other preferences are associated with a part of the operating system, and you must Restart in order to generate a new one.