Deleting Projects on iMovie. consequences

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JDM4006, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. JDM4006 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    #1
    I have been freeing up space on my macbook. I have about 6 projects on my iMovie project tab. i posted/shared all of these to my Facebook and youtube.. what i didn't know is that when i deleted them from my projects, it also deleted them from my youtube and Facebook without saying "if you delete this it will be removed from your shared sites":eek::eek:
    my question i guess is:
    How do i delete my projects to free up space WITHOUT taking them off my youtube and Facebook.:confused:
    please help.
     
  2. r0k macrumors 68040

    r0k

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit
    #2
    I'm puzzled by this. Deleting something on your Mac shouldn't delete it on every web site you've uploaded it to. Did you delete the projects from inside iMovie and perhaps it "went a little too far" and requested deletion (or marked private) files you had uploaded?

    Every time I make something in iMovie, I export it as a mov file and post that file to youtube or whatever. Then when I go back to reclaim several gigs of wasted space by moving my iMovie files to an external drive (or flat out deleting them) nothing I care about is affected.

    I know Apple is trying to get us to stop thinking about files and file management but if you create something in iMovie, take the time to export it and back it up yourself. Did you restore the items from the trash and they came back? If so, go ahead and export (which will take a while) and you can use the exported files to post wherever you like without thinking about deleting the iMovie folders.
     
  3. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #3
    That's pretty surprising that deleting a project where I assume you shared with YouTube etc. using the Share menu... would actually delete the video from those sites. Some workarounds: delete the content within those projects but leave the project file if removing it will also remove the video from where they were shared. Also, you could simply transfer these project files to an external storage medium for archiving. Or, you remove Event media which takes up more space than project media to save space.

    That being said, in the future export your videos from iMovie and then upload the file through your browser so you don't encounter this issue (still surprises me.) I would recommend using Export with Quicktime and customizing the video compressor and audio quality settings to make sure you're getting the best quality. (p.s. 4000th post :))
     
  4. westedge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    #4
    I shared to YouTube, then sent to iTunes...

    First I shared my project to YouTube. Then when that looooong process was done (the video was 10 min long and took an hour to upload), I sent the project to the iTunes program on my computer.

    My problem was that when I thought it was safely on the computer within iTunes I merely deleted the project from the iPhone. What a MISTAKE!!!!

    Good thing I had sent it to YouTube first, as it didn't delete it there!! Perhaps this was a bug that has since been corrected.

    I can now download the project from YouTube as an mp4, phew!!!!!!! But really!! Why the heck would I have to do the further step of "save to" some other place on my computer's hard drive so that iTunes doesn't happily send my project into LaLa Land!!!!! I really find iTunes UN-intuitive!!

    :mad:
     

Share This Page