Dell 2005 FPW Resolution not showing up

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by lazyboy922, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. lazyboy922 macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #1
    I have used my Dell 2005 FPW on my desktop for quite some time with the resolution at 1680 x 1050

    However, when I hook it up to my 17" powerbook G4, that is not an option? I've never had to install drivers before, and I don't think dell offers them for the Mac.

    Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    Which generation PBG4/17"? Did you look for the resolution after turning mirroring off?
     
  3. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #3
    Yes I turned mirroring off. It's the last 17" before they went to the macbook pro.

    I'm really stumped!
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I guess you could try SwitchResX or the like, but that seems like a resolution that Mac should know... other question, have you tried hot-plugging it -- plugging it in when the Mac is already booted up? Mmmm, that's strange.
     
  5. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #5
    I've tried switchres and also hot plugging. The only thing I can think of- Do I need to use the supplied dvi adapter? I'm using a generic one, and maybe that's the issue?
     
  6. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  7. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
  8. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
  9. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #9
    I have tried both. Actually it is only showing up in VGA mode. When I connect it with DVI, the monitor stays black, and it is not showing up when I detect displays. This is weird
     
  10. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #10
    You did change inputs on the monitor when connecting DVI?
     
  11. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #11
    Yep, sure did!

    Shouldn't 1680 x 1050 show up even in VGA mode? I just hooked it up to my friends PC laptop, and it worked fine on his.
     
  12. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #12
    it should work.
    I guess you could zap PRAM and reset PMU and also try deleting /Library/Preferences/com.apple.windowserver.plist and reboot
     
  13. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #13
    I didn't reset the PMU, but tried the others and didn't work.

    Will I lose any files or anything if I reset the PMU. Apple website says it's kind of a last resort thing.

    I have a feeling that won't work either. I really can't think of what the problem is. I thought in the past, that when I would connect it to my desktop, it would recognize it as the Dell 2005FPW. My powerbook only sees it as "Display".
     
  14. lazyboy922 thread starter macrumors 6502

    lazyboy922

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #14
    I plugged in my other 20" monitors from home, and the same result. My powerbook just isn't recognizining the monitors with thier specific model numbers, only a Generic monitor.

    I don't know if this is normal as well, but it's showing the native powerbook display as "Color LCD". I thought that it would be a little more specific than that?

    Anyone know how I can restore the .icc profiles, or download them from somewhere?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page