Dell 2408 WFP @ 2560 by 1600!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by UltraNEO*, Feb 14, 2009.

  1. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #1
    Hi everyone..

    I just needed a little more desktop real-estate for a project, so I grabbed the Dell from the PC and plugged it into the Mac. And as expected it worked just fine... but for some reason Première quit..

    Anyway, oddly enough for some reason on my system preferences show the display is capable of running at and handle 2560 by 1600! Which is the same as a 30" ACD!

    [​IMG]

    How is this possible, when it's maximum is supposed to be 1920 by 1200. Most importantly, is it safe? I feel, it can't be healthy, can it?

    Anyone like to give me some input on this?
    Thanks...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #2
    It looks like your system is set to show all resolutions rather than just the ones the display is capable of using. I forget how to change it back, but rest assured that the max (and ideal) resolution of the display is 1920x1200.
     
  3. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #3
    Display options only show this (see attachment) which is for the other panel.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    Even though you can output a higher resolution, the monitor can only handle it's native resolution of 1920x1200. Running anything higher can possibly damage the monitor.

    That would make for some small fonts if they made a 24" monitor support the 30" resolution :p
     
  5. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #5
    Bah...
    that's what on-site warrant is there for.
     
  6. Wormy23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #6
    It's the graphics card that does the scaling. It doesn't damage the monitor.

    I read somewhere that ATI did this for their HD 3870 retail board only. It was somewhere on the forums... someone noticed higher resolutions were available on their 1920 displays.

    How does the image look? Is it hard to read?
     
  7. UltraNEO* thread starter macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #7
    Imagine this...
    You have a High Resolution MacBook Pro 17
    but it's has a 24" display and the resolution of a 30" screen.

    Text wise it's fairly readable. :)
    But I'm just using the panel for video preview/playback.
     

Share This Page