Dell 3007WFP at full resolution

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by ZBoater, Sep 2, 2011.

  1. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #1
    So I plugged my MBA using a DVI to Displayport connector (Apple) to my 30" Dell 3007WFP display (native resolution 2560x1600). The MBA only lets me go up to 1280 x 800. I think I know the answer (powered DVI connector) but before I go spend that kind of money on a monitor adapter, I am hoping someone has better news for me.... :D

    BTW, this monitor at 1280 x 800 looks insanely huge. No squinting at all! :rolleyes:
     
  2. 2IS macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #2
    Powered or otherwise, it needs to be a DUAL LINK DVI for those resolutions.
     
  3. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #3
    Ratz. I knew it was something like that. I found a lightly used one in Amazon for $50. We'll see how what works... Thanks! :D
     
  4. minnus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    #4
    Thats odd - I wonder why you can't go up to the resolution supported by Single-Link DVI. My MBA can go up to 1920x1200 on my U2410s (cheap mini displayport to hdmi to dvi). I would have imagined that you could go up a little higher...
     
  5. 2IS macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #5
    I agree, he should be able to go higher with the single link, regardless though, if he wants to run the monitor at native res, he'd still need a dual link.
     
  6. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #6
    For monitors at 30" to run native res at 2560x1600, a dual link dvi is needed.
     
  7. Munc macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #7
    3007 will only accept 2560x1600 or 1280x800

    3008 will accept many more resolutions as it has a scaler
     
  8. 2IS macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #8
    Ahh, well there you have it. That's good info to know.
     
  9. ngpeter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    #9
    I plug my 2011 mba 13" into my dell 30 Ultrasharp 3011 and get the full 2560 x 1600 resolution in both mac osx and windows 7 via bootcamp. I use a displayport cable from the monitor to a mini displayport adapter into the thunderbolt/displayport socket. I can even play 1080p movies smoothly in a window or full screen using MPC.
     
  10. SidBala macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #10
    You need one of these.

    Unfortunately, there is no inexpensive way to do it. I have the exact same situation and I just bought myself an adapter just yesterday.
     
  11. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #11
    And we have a winner! Thank you! :D

    Yes, my monitor is 4 1/2 years old, and now I remember the scaler issue. 1280x800 is half of the native res. Ok, now to wait for my Apple dual link dvi adapter...
     
  12. 2IS macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #12
    That's not exactly the same thing as what the OP is doing. Going from Mini-DP to DP is entirely different than going from Mini-DP to DVI
     
  13. ZBoater, Sep 17, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011

    ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #13
    Just now tested the Apple adapter I got from eBay for $50. It was like new and it worked like a charm. Using Lion at 2560x1600 is awesome! I wonder what Jedi Knight would look like...

    EDIT: It looks great. Amazing.
     
  14. danpass macrumors 68020

    danpass

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  15. reputationZed macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Location:
    34°55′42″N 80°44′41″W (34.
    #15
    I just picked up the Apple MDP -> DLDVI adapter on Amazon for $99, so you got a good deal on e-bay. I was a bit worried about the MBS's ability to drive the 30" ACD but I couldn't be happier with how well it works. I haven't tried it with any games yet but I'm not really expecting much on that front anyway.
     
  16. ZBoater thread starter macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #16
    Jedi Knight 2 works well at 2560x1600, but that is an old game. Windows in Parallels full screen seemed sluggish. Windows native was a little better. I'm not sure how often I'll use this setup. It's weird to see my MBA screen so huge. And it's a lot of cables (USB full size keyboard, thunderbolt, USB connector from the dvi adapter, power). My desk looks like white cable spaghetti. That thunderbolt display is looking nicer by the minute...
     
  17. kegler macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    #17
    able to play simple games with ur mba and 3011? like dota or sc2?
     

Share This Page