Dell 5k UP2715K & cMP & Flashed 680 = No Boot Screens

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Dr. Stealth, Sep 23, 2017.

  1. Dr. Stealth, Sep 23, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017

    Dr. Stealth macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal-Surf City USA
    #1
    Well I've spent a few days setting up this new Dell 5k UP2715K. There were a couple well documented issues and I was able to get it working "fine" in Sierra 10.12.6 and Win 10 Pro. Beautiful 5K resolution @ 60 Hz, rich colors, super sharp text. I had everything working fine with only one last thing to check. Boot screens. I have NOT been able to get this display to show a boot screen no matter what I try.

    I have a Apple GT 120 in my cMP to use just for this case. I tried to get to a boot screen with the GT 120 and a mDP to DP (Dell) cable and no joy. I believe it's probably because the GT 120 uses DP 1.1 (?) and the display requires DP 1.2.

    So I popped in a flashed 680 (DP 1.2) and tried the same thing. No joy, black screen. Apparently this is an issue on both Macs and PCs as there is a lame FAQ from Dell that say's....

    Screen Shot 2017-09-23 at 3.56.23 PM.png

    Well that's not much of a solution for me. I run one display and I'm not about to swap out displays anytime I want to see, or need a boot screen. This would be a deal breaker for me. If I can't get this display to show a boot screen I'll be returning it and stick with my 27" Cinema Display for now.

    So..... Question: Has anyone been able to get this display to show a boot screen? If so, what GPU, what is the trick ?

    Thanks !
     
  2. William Payne, Sep 23, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017

    William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #2
    I don't know about this display, but I do know that some displays just outright can't show a boot screen irrelevant of the OS or gpu. Some displays appear to be dedicated secondary displays.

    I could be completely wrong but I have seen displays that say no boot screen for mac os.
     
  3. Dr. Stealth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal-Surf City USA
    #3

    Thanks for the reply... I've never heard of that. I'll see if any of the Dell 5K owners chime in about their success with boot screens.
     
  4. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #4
    I know with an eizo screen I was looking at it said in the fine print "no boot screen"
     
  5. Hb86 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2017
    #5
    I am using late 2013 Mac Pro with this monitor, Never see boot screen using Dual Display Port, But it does show boot screen using only the mini Display port.
     
  6. mattspace macrumors 65816

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    i get the feeling that the 5k has always been a bit of a compromise - ever use SCSI drives in the old days - having to power up all your devices in reverse order from the end of the chain, with the computer last - it's got a whiff of that era of computing about it.

    they don't sell it in the Australian market, but I wonder if Dell's 8k display has solved any of these issues?

    The replacement for the 5k seems to be their new up2718 HDR 4k screen.

    While it's a bit of hack, perhaps having a small, cheap screen permanently plugged into the gt120 in a spare pci slot, just to be a boot monitor, is going to be the most workable combo, if you can't get it to output on minidp.
     
  7. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #7
    Why don't you guys get it? It is for sale (was until discontinued) here in New Zealand. Actually to correct myself on that. It is still in stock here in New Zealand.
     
  8. mattspace macrumors 65816

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    the 5k is still on sale here - not even marked as discontinued last i looked, but the 32" 8k has never been offered here.
     
  9. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #9
    Oh sorry you are meaning the 8k. yeah haven't seen that here yet.
     
  10. Dr. Stealth, Sep 24, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2017

    Dr. Stealth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Dr. Stealth

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal-Surf City USA
    #10

    Thanks to all for your replies. After messing with this monitor for a week I'd say mattspace hit the nail on the head. I've never had any issue setting up any display. They are supposed to just work, especially a $2,000.00+ one. As a long time cMP user I'm used to jumping through a couple hoops to get something working. I'm fine with that as long as everything works when done.

    I also thought about setting up a small 8" display to the GT-120 just for boot screens but it seems ridiculous to buy another display just to show boot screens.

    One problem is, after working with this 5k display for a week I don't think I'll be satisfied with a 4k. So I'll return the Dell 5k and put my trusty Apple LED Cinema Display back on my desk and wait for something better to come along.

    Again, thanks to all for your help.
     

Share This Page

9 September 23, 2017