Dell Has Gone Downhill

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by StrokeMidnight, Jul 16, 2009.

  1. StrokeMidnight macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #1
    So for the past month or two I've been in the market for a new computer. I bought an iMac and had to return it because there was a problem with it. I decided I might as well try a Windows now that I had a second chance on the computer (the program I wanted to run recommended a Mac Pro or PC of equal specs, and I couldn't afford the Mac Pro).

    So I ordered a Dell Studio XPS 435 with a Core i7 Processor and I was going upgrade the RAM to 9GB. I got the computer yesterday and noticed that things were running extremely slowly. For example, my programs loaded about 5 times faster on my iMac (using it now) which is three years old and has about half the specs of the new computer. I actually timed it on a stopwatch. I thought that could be a problem, but wasn't sure since Windows is normally slower. I had basically decided to return it at that point anyway, what's the point of spending $1,000 for a new computer that runs half the speed of a three year old one?

    I was checking the BIOS and saw that it said I only had 2GB RAM installed, when I really had 3GB and Windows was reading three. I called Dell Tech Support and they walked me through a BIOS update. It turns out, the computer had BIOS from before the processor was even made! I'm not very knowledgeable about computer, but I know that a new processor like the Core i7 can't be running on BIOS from before it was made! How can Dell ship something out like that? Don't they check their systems?

    The Tech support guy walked me through a BIOS update and it fixed the RAM recognition, but now I can't start Windows. I get an option to "Start Windows Normally" and then if I select that the computer restarts and I have to select it again, and it repeats the reboot and brings me to the same screen. The other option just gives me a blue screen.

    The tech support guy has been really nice and very helpful, but this is disgraceful. I've heard horror stories about Dell, but I knew that they used to be good, I guess not anymore. I'm now stuck with a completely broken computer, and they are going to charge a restocking fee and shipping to send back a broken computer I've had for a day.

    Anyone else have experiences like this?
     
  2. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
    My stepmother just bought a Dell Studio laptop. That registration screen that doesn't show up under Applications is sending me into a raging bitchfest. Particularly because I don't know what process it is. Every time I click to "Register" or "Ask me again later", it freezes and doesn't do ****. I can still use the computer.

    Even worse, they sold her Norton on discount, even though there was already a trial version on her computer. So I put the cd in the disk slot, and it had me restart because some element had been uninstalled, only to boot up and uninstall the same element again. It was a neverending cycle of ******** that culminated in me downloading the Norton removal tool and removing that ****.

    And then that Apple-esque dock thing on the top of the screen is pissing me off. Won't ever get the clue I don't want it.
     
  3. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #3
    So you wanted to put 9GB but you are not that computer savy? :eek:

    I believe with dell you have to press F1 after you reboot to accept the changes in the configuration.

    Something else you can try is to go back into Bios F5 or F12 (I think I don't have it in front of me) and reset the defaults.

    Then when you reboot look for the F1 or another function key to accept the changes in Bios.

    If you run into any issues and I will try to fire up my dell sometime tonight (I work nights so spare time varies) and get some screen shots for you.

    Just PM me.

    Just one question what OS you running? and what in the world do you need 9GB for?

    Thanks
    Scott
     
  4. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #4
    Just turn off the Dock.
    They sold her? Cmon She could have said no.
     
  5. StrokeMidnight thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #5
    I think I'm just going to send it back, I'm still in the 21 day return time, but if I wait and run into problems later I'm out $1,000. I think I'm just gonna go with the 24" iMac.

    I was running Vista 64-bit. I needed 9GB for East West Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra which is a sampling program (www.soundsonline.com, click classical/orchestral and you'll see it). Most people running it actually use 3-4 computers to run it since it's completely impossible to run on one.
     
  6. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #6
    I would get a stop gap computer or stick with your old iMac for a couple of months. The next iMac revision is promising Nehalem, possible Quad Core, and a possible price reduction like on the laptops.
     
  7. bruinsrme macrumors 601

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #7
    take a look at the Dell forums as well.
    they have some EXCELLENT tech support from both tech support people and dell fan boys.
    I have visited there before and resolved issues quickly.

    Look under the Community tab. http://community.dell.com/
     
  8. StrokeMidnight thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #8
    I can only afford refurbished. Would the iMac be around $1,550?
     
  9. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #9
    I do. It turns back on upon restart.

    And the dock doesn't really bother me as much as...

    [​IMG]

    That screen freezes right there. Every time I click register, it freezes. Every time I click Remind me Later or Decline, again it freezes. I cannot find the process to kill it, and it doesn't show up under Applications.
     
  10. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #10
    You need to uncheck the box that says "start ____dock at startup" . . . . .
     
  11. djellison macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    Pasadena CA
    #11
    My Dad got a Dell laptop a month or so ago. Within 10 minutes I had the dock removed, the bundled software removed - and it's been fast, reliable and fantastic for him ever since.
     
  12. WickedRabbit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    #12
    Only Dell I've ever owned is a now 4 year old Dell Inspiron E1705 laptop. To this day, it runs fine. The only issue I had is that after about 2 years the laptop battery completely died to the point that I needed to replace it, but this is not only normal for that period of time, but was also partially my fault anyway since I was using the machine as a desktop replacement and made the mistake of leaving the battery plugged in while I had it connected to a wall outlet (overcharging the battery + more battery charges every time I would turn it off/on).

    I now have Windows 7 RC on it and use it as a secondary machine around the house to my new iMac. Overall, though, it's ran fine and has lasted quite a long time - a lot longer than I actually expected and still performs incredibly well. It runs games almost as good as my iMac (via Windows Bootcamp of course) with an ATI 4850, which just further reminds me how far behind Apple is on the gaming side of things that a 4 year old PC pretty much runs neck and neck on gaming performance with a brand new $2,500 iMac (laptop cost me $1500).
     

Share This Page