Dell :mad:

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by X1Lightning, Aug 30, 2007.

  1. X1Lightning macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    I was on dell's site looking at monitors, and they had the 30" for $1,050
    thats a great deal so i was gonna buy it, opened up its main page... drooled over it for a min or 2 then hit add to cart, well they raised the price on it 200$ in the few min i was looking at it. :mad::mad::mad::mad:
    now they are not getting my money
     
  2. sblasl macrumors 6502a

    sblasl

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    Heber Springs, AR
    #2
    Why are you not posting this in the DellRumors Forums?

     
  3. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #3
    so i'm not allowed to talk about dell monitors, but everyone else is?
     
  4. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    So which 30" monitor are you getting instead?
     
  5. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #5
    I would love to get an apple 30", but i cant afford the extra to get one,
    and looks like nobody else makes a 30, so either wait and save for the apple or buy a 24" something else... :(
     
  6. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    The question is whether or not you really need a 30" monitor?

    Two 23"/24" monitors would also be a great setup.

    Samsung also makes a 30 incher, not sure for how much though.
     
  7. suneohair macrumors 68020

    suneohair

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #7
    The sammy is up there with the ACD. I have dual 24" and I love it. Absolutely love it. Naturally I would love a 30", but the limited inputs hold me back.
     
  8. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #8
    I had an apple 30" cinema display. Dumped it in favor of two 24" dells. Best decision I ever made.
     
  9. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #9
    I guess I dont "Need" a 30, but it would make my life a lot easier.
    Ideally i want 2 30" screens down the road,

    but the budget is tight right now,
    and a big hangup is my machine only has one dual link dvi and not worth the upgrade . but i am looking at getting the mac pro when they update the hardware, then i'll have a machine with 2 dvi's on it
     
  10. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #10
    why would you talk about a dell made monitor in a section of a forum dedicated to APPLE TOWERS?
     
  11. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #11
    You could have easily called their sales dept and talked to a sales rep. Chances are you would have got it if you acted fast but I guess its kinda late now since you decided to write a post instead of calling in :)

    My friend had something simlar with a 24". He was one day late missing a sale but when he called in, the sales guy gave it to him and said the only thing he cant do is free shipping - which ended up being $20 or something anyway. He still saved $100 or so which is not bad.

     
  12. Multimedia macrumors 603

    Multimedia

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz CA, Silicon Beach
    #12
  13. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #13
    Why do you say that?
     
  14. smurfy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #14
    Apple Cinema Displays have Firewire and USB hubs too :)
     
  15. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #15
    Because many Mac Pro and other Mac owners choose Dell monitors as a decent quality and less expensive alternative to similar Apple monitors. Get off the high horse.

    For a monitor, it is more important to have flexible input options unless it is single purpose. USB and FW hubs you can always add. Analog, component and HDMI interfaces you can't.
     
  16. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #16
    Umm...


    - Cheaper
    - More pixels
    - more ports, lots more ports

    I can hook up anything to my dells. They have everything except HDMI and that is pretty much DVI. 30" panels just have the DVI.
     
  17. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #17
    I just got 2x 24" monitors. Well, 1x 23 ACD that came with the second hand Mac Pro I bought and a 24" HP, previous gen. Not real happy with the HP. Color is ok, but despite the better specs, it's not as clear as the ACD for some reason. Even after calibration. I love the dual inputs though, great for hooking up to my old G5 as well and using it as a server. The fw ports never seem to work right on my ACD either.

    Dell is tricky about their prices. Look for some coupons maybe, and check the small business store as well as the home one. Sometimes they have different prices. Was very unhappy with my old 19" Dell LCD, it was kinda blurry, but it was really cheap and my parents are fine with it now on their new mini. The 30" all look nice though.
     

Share This Page