Dell P4317Q

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by h9826790, May 21, 2016.

  1. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #1
  2. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    That would be an amazing experience with Synergy software installed.

    Basically when you get to the edge of a "screen", Synergy hands off the keyboard and mouse control to the next computer, regardless of operating system. So the correct computer is always being controlled, based off of the location of your mouse pointer.
     
  3. hunter24x7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    #3
    Display works GREAT on a Mid-2015 Macbook Pro. Beautiful!
    BUT...volume control does not work at all. No driver available from Dell. Sad but true.
    You should plan to use other external speakers or your internal Macbook Pro speakers along with this monitor. The monitor sound works just fine, but there's no control over the volume except for front buttons on the monitor.
     
  4. murquhart macrumors newbie

    murquhart

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    #4
    Those who purchased: I've noticed in the ads for this monitor they show 4 displays running at same time. Wonder if you've found someway to make that work with native Mac capabilities... i.e, spaces, etc. Thanks in advance.
     
  5. Filin, Mar 10, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017

    Filin macrumors regular

    Filin

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #5
    I read that this monitor has extremely poor image quality...
    Be careful deciding to buy it
     
  6. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #6
    Links?
     
  7. Filin macrumors regular

    Filin

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Location:
    Ukraine
    #7
  8. soamz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #8
    Im looking to purchase the same.
    Anyone who wants to give more review about it ?
     
  9. h9826790 thread starter macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    For Mac Pro, make 4 HDMI output is quite easy.

    From Dell webpage, that 4x 1080P is a build in function inside the monitor. As long as you fill all 4 HDMI input with your Mac, that function should be avail natively.

    It should be relatively straight forward with dual GPU. Single GPU may be a bit hard to achieve 4x HDMI (depends on the card, of course).
     
  10. soamz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Orissa, India
    #10
    I just have one MacBook pro. I need to work it's output on this Dell, without losing the retina look and feel as I do photo video editing. So is it good or shall I look for something else ?
     
  11. gdeusthewhizkid macrumors 6502a

    gdeusthewhizkid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    NY|NJ
    #11
    we just got a bunch of these at my job.. beautiful displays.. im setting some up for upper management with macs.. Ill let you know my review in a bout a week...
     
  12. louist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    #12
    Also interested in this monitor. Just curious to know how the install/setup went with these monitors at work... compatible with MAC? also, did you find the brightness below 100% causes noticeable PWM flicker?
     
  13. rodwarren macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    #13
    I just bought one and tried it with both my iMac and MacBook Pro (both new systems running Sierra 10.12.6) and... FAIL. It is blurry and for sure will cause eye strain. It's going back to Dell. Dell does not make Mac drivers for this monitor (and I think for any of their other monitors for that matter). Their tech agent said that 'plug & play' is the only option when connecting to a Mac. The Dell software to arrange the monitor into a 4-in-1 works only with Windows and is not downloadable for Mac. I"m sure the resolution would be very clear when connected to a Windows system with the drivers from Dell, but for Mac, does not work unfortunately. It is a 4K monitor but will only provide a max of 2K with with a Mac system (verified with both my iMac & MacBook Pro). A few more calls to Apple and to Dell tech support confirmed I'm out of luck. Calling the Dell return line.. :(
    >>>> Anyone reading this post, if you are aware of large sized monitors that have Mac drivers I would appreciate a reply.
     
  14. louist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    #14
    Have a look at the LG 43UD79 monitor, cheaper than DELL... looks ok, but may have PWM issues even at full brightness...
     
  15. eyeangle macrumors regular

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #15
    I'm looking at a 42 inch 4K monitor as well, actually I just posted over in the 'Alternatives to Mac Hardware' forum which one I should buy between the Viewsonic 4K 42 inch or the LG 4K 42 inch.

    Here:
    https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/viewsonic-vx4380-4k-or-lg-43ud79-b.2060601/

    I hadn't considered the Dell P4317Q. Will look into it.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 8, 2017 ---
    Check out this awesome review about it:
     
  16. rodwarren macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    #16
    Louist: THANKS! :) I just checked online regarding the LG 43UD79 you mentioned & I called their sales team, looks like it will work in 4K resolution with a Mac, the rep specifically told me that I would need to upgrade the standard USB C cable; the one that comes with the unit and the ones typically purchased via Apple would not be sufficient. He said I need one that has "DisplayPort Alternate Mode" and then I would be able to get a 4K signal on the LG from my MacBook Pro. Thanks a lot for the response, this monitor looks like it will be great. Ordering it today.
    PS: Dealing with Dell was a nightmare. Their sales & service are all outsourced to overseas, I found the reps terribly misinformed and there were constant communication problems trying to understand them and vice-versa. After talking with 6 different Dell employees about the problems I had with the Dell P4317Q, I got constant conflicting information and was simply passed off from one person to another; it was a disaster. When I called LG, the very first guy I spoke with had perfect English and he was extremely proficient with his knowledge of the monitor and all the related technicalities of connecting it to a Mac system.
     
  17. nigelbb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #17
    Take a look at the Philips BDM435OUC 43" screen. I have the previous model that is a 40" & couldn't be happier. Enormous amounts of screen real estate. Decent but not cot crazy high DPI. Plus it is a bargain. My previous 30" monitor that it replaced (HP LP3065) cost more than double.
     
  18. skkeptickle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    #18
    --- Post Merged, Dec 16, 2017 ---
    You can get use of the full 2016p (4k) resolution of Dell P4317Q from a Mac by using DisplayPort.
    What I didn't know until I researched it prior to purchase was that the Thunderbolt port on my 2016 MacBook Pro is also a miniDisplayPort. If I come out of my Mac via mDP (Thunderbolt) into the DP or mDP ports on the P4317Q (there was a mDP to DP cable in the P4317Q box), I get 2160p 60hz natively.
    It is hard to tell much difference in resolution between the MBP Retina screen and the P4317Q (I use the P4317Q as extended desktop just above the MBP screen - see attached lo-res image).

    Also note that using HDMI, one cannot achieve 60hz or 2160p, or so I was told. HTH IMG_7342.png
    --- Post Merged, Dec 16, 2017 ---
    Meant to say, the bottom-right corner of the screen shown in the image is a PIP of a separate computer, playing in via the VGA socket at 1920
     
  19. Teledatageek macrumors newbie

    Teledatageek

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Location:
    Upstate New York
    #19
    I have this same monitor... switched to a MacBook Pro 13" with a Startech USB-C dock a week ago - I use this monitor as a quad monitor using all the inputs. Three from the PC and one for my Tivo. I have been using this set up for quite some time with my Dell Latitude,- has worked great. Decided to try the Mac and see if I could finally make the switch from Dell/Windows 10.

    So... resolutions seem a little funny from the Mac - and is there a way to increase the size of on the application/fonts as you can in Windows 10. I see how one can do this on the native Mac display and fix it - but not seeing that option to the external monitors.

    This seems a little different than your set up, but wanted to see if you had any thoughts on what I'm trying to figure out.
     
  20. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Serbia
    #20
    I am using this monitor in combo with my (sig) nMP connected via mDP to DP cable. 3840x2160@60Hz.
    This monitor can only display 4K@60Hz via (m)DP.

    This is not monitor for designers or someone who does color grading, but there is nothing wrong with it. Sad thing is that there is no software for multi-client setup (PIP, PBP) for macOS - you have to use the buttons. I need large workspace, VGA/HDMI/DP inputs (sometimes even at the same time) - so this is perfect monitor for someone who has similar needs.
     
  21. parker!, Jan 17, 2018
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2018

    parker! macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    #21
    I have the Dell P4317Q and I'm pretty happy with it. It's only @1x DPI (42.5" = 36.61" × 20.59" at 104.9 PPI, compared to 220.53 PPI on the 15" MBP display), and I was never able to perfectly match the colors with my macbook pro display, but for the price I'm quite satisfied and the real-estate is just insane. I suppose bumping it up to 5k would be even better but as it is I'm able to display two 1920px windows, or three 1280px windows side by side. I occasionally do some graphic design work and it's not great for that; DPI is too low and the colors are just a little "blah" for lack of a better word. It's also slow to wake up (macbook turns on, waits for the external display, then decides it's turned off and rearranges the desktop, then the monitor comes on and the mac reactivates it and rearranges the desktop again... if anyone knows a fix for this please let me know, it's super annoying!). Pictures don't really do it justice, you have to be sitting in front of it to appreciate how enormous it is. 2160p@60hz works fine with a USB-C to display port adapter: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B01EXKDRAC

    IMG_0991.jpg
     
  22. bernuli macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    #22

    Can you manually power cycle the Dell monitor first? Power it down from sleep mode, then turn it on and wait for monitor to boot before waking you MacBook? Does that workaround work?
     
  23. v0rts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    #23
    I've got one, and the resolution is great.
     

Share This Page