Dell U2713HM & Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jakesaunders27, Apr 13, 2014.

  1. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi,
    Just a quick question, I want to use a Dell U2713HM with my Mac Pro it has a mac 5770 in it, do I need a dual link DVI adaptor? or can i just connect it straight up.

    Cheers
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
  3. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Awesome thanks! It's a mac 5770 so should be ok with a standard cable dual link dvi cable
     
  4. networkguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Location:
    Virginia, US
    #4
    I've used both mDP-to-DP and DL-DVI to connect my old Radeon 5870 to my U2713HM. Both worked fine but my resolution was reset to 800x600 if I turned the monitor off while the Mac was running when using DisplayPort. Didn't have that problem with DL-DVI.
     
  5. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    That's useful to know, thanks! I had a similar problem with the resolution when I used to use an old 19 inch dell, I only use 1 monitor now so I will use the DL-DVI to connect it up, thanks!
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    This seems to be a common complaint for the StarTech DP-MDP cable, which is apparently not wired correctly according to VESA standard.

    I'm curious, do you know which brand cable you have?
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    I have had great luck with Monoprice cables. Great pricing, Great quality and I've never had any issues with them not working properly.

    Lou
     

Share This Page