Delta updates?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Applejuiced, Oct 20, 2011.

  1. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #1
    Does the particular app dev have to implement this or is it all iOS apps past 5.0 supposed to be like that?
    Im on 5.0 and just updated Cro Mag and it still downloaded the whole app.
     
  2. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #2
    I know there are delta update capabilities for iOS updates, not sure if that applies to apps too or not. I suppose if it did, the developer would have to enable it.
     
  3. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    I thought it was only iOS that would get delta updates.
     
  4. Applejuiced thread starter macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    Weird, I thought the apps were supposed to update like that too.
    Still not sure though, I hate to keep having to download 1.3GB's to update Navigon each time.
     
  5. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #5
    Navigon's supposed to have an update by the end of the year that has a completely redesigned UI and it allows you to download only the states you need, making it smaller.
     
  6. RafaelT macrumors 65816

    RafaelT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    #6
    That was only for system updates, that's not to say we wont see this for apps in the future.... but for the most part apps are a few megs vs 600 - 800 megs
     
  7. Applejuiced thread starter macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Oh so it was just for firmware updates and not for apps.
    Thanks folks.
     
  8. SubliminalMac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    #8
    Seems like the developer should be planning for small updates instead of stuffing 1.3gb down our network every update, though it's not bad on wifi, it's undoable on a mobile network. This is the main reason I haven't bought a navigation app.
     
  9. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    Well I'm pretty sure you're forced to download over wifi anyway if the app is over 20 MB.
     

Share This Page